Skip to main content

MCP: Resources for Community Psychology Master Students: Culturally Engaged Counseling

Getting Started

The Alverno Library is a gateway to information on the mental health beliefs and practices for cultures and countries worldwide.

The resources in this LibGuide are especially useful for completing MCP627 Culturally Engaged Counseling assignments.

Tip: Search with synonyms
For example, if you are investigating a cultural group AND family relationships you could try searching with any of the following terms: parent child relations, family relations, family attitudes, parenting,
family conflict...

Need more synonyms? Use the Database Search Strategy Worksheet for MCP 627.


Not sure where to start? Try these:

Google Scholar is an excellent tool for finding scholarly journal articles. Click here to access Google Scholar or use the link on the Alverno Library homepage to find articles available on the "free" web or in the library's subscription databases.
The World Health Organization (WHO) is the premier resource for global health information. The WHO website provides detailed information on many aspects of healthcare for countries worldwide. It includes information on health topics, data and statistics, and numerous publications on important healthcare issues.

PsycINFO provides access to citations, abstracts, and fulltext articles from the professional Psychology literature as well as from other related disciplines. It is found on the Alverno Library's Databases by Subject or Databases A-Z page. Try searching multiple databases at once.
Click here to learn how.
Sage Nursing and Public Health Collection contains full-text journals, book reviews, editorials, graphics and tables in Communication, Education, Health Sciences, Business, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Criminology, Urban Studies and more. It is found on the Alverno Library's Databases by Subject or Databases A-Z page.
Loading

eBooks

Books

Sample APA Papers

Fully formatted APA paper thumbnail

Looking for a sample APA paper? Purdue's OWL provides a fully formatted APA paper.

 

Formatting an annotated bibliography thumbnail

Formatting an annotated bibliography.

 

Formatting a running head thumbnail

Formatting a running head.

Library Liaison

Sara Shutkin's picture
Sara Shutkin
Contact:
Alverno College Library
Office: CO B8
Phone: 414-382-6202
Social:Twitter Page

Need Help?

Ask a Librarian icon

Library Information

Need more help?

-Stop in for 1-on-1 help. Hours & Location
-Call the reference desk at (414)382-6062
-Library Home Page
-Library Staff Directory