Skip to main content

MCP: Resources for Community Psychology Master Students: Theories & Theorists

Introduction

This guide has been created to help you find information on psychological theories and theorists

Remember: all Alverno electronic resources are available from off campus. Use the 14 digit barcode on your student ID to access our resources from off campus.
Click here for more information.

Finding Background Information

A useful starting point is to find background information in subject specific encyclopedias in Alverno's library or in Credo Reference (Online). This will give you the vocabulary you need to expand your searching.

When using subject specific encyclopedias in Alverno's library first try looking up the name of your theorist in the index. The specific theory might be listed there as well. Here are some useful titles:

Credo Reference is another good starting point to find background information on your topic. It is an easy-to-use online tool for research projects with a collection that searches encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as images, audio files and videos. A link to it can be found on the library's Databases A to Z page.

Try browsing Credo's Topic Pages by Category--Psychology first. Credo also is easy to search.

Loading

Research Using Books

You can find many useful books, book chapters, and encyclopedia articles in electronic format by doing a search in the PsycBOOKS database. A link to it can be found on the library's Databases by Subject - Psychology page.

Try searching in this database for "Piaget" AND "theory" or try looking for "Piaget" as an author.

Here is a direct link to PsycBOOKS.

To find e-books on your theorist or theory available through the library, use the eBooks search box located on the library home page or click here to begin your search.

Books can give you a good overview and some history on your topic.

Use TOPCAT to find books on your topic. First do a subject or keyword search using the name of your theorist as your topic to find books in Alverno's library or the other SWITCH libraries about your theorist.

Here is a subject search example for "Piaget"

TOPCAT Subject Search on "Piaget"

Do an author search to find books written by your theorist.

TOPCAT Author search for "Piaget"

Try a subject search or a keyword search using a specific theory name as your topic. Here is a sample keyword search on "Constructivism."

Sample TOPCAT search on "constructivism"

Loading

Finding Journal Articles

Find journal articles on your theorist or theory by doing a search in PsycINFO or PsycARTICLES. Visit the library's Databases by Subject page and select Psychology  to find links to either database.

If you do an author search in either database using the name of your theorist for your search term, you will find articles written by your theorist.

Here are direct links to PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES.

Library Liaison

Sara Shutkin's picture
Sara Shutkin
Contact:
Alverno College Library
Office: CO B8
Phone: 414-382-6202
Social:Twitter Page

Library Information

Need more help?

-Stop in for 1-on-1 help. Hours & Location.
-Send us an email.
-Call the research assistance desk at (414)382-6062.
-Library Home Page.
-Library Staff Directory.