Skip to main content

Women's & Gender Studies LibGuide: Home

Getting Started

This guide will help you find resources on Women's & Gender Studies available through the Alverno Library. Need more information? Please call, email, or visit the library.

Logging in from off campus? All Alverno electronic resources are available from off campus. Use the 14 digit barcode on your student ID to access our resources from off campus.
Click here for more information.

Basic Search Tools

TOPCAT

Login | Advanced | Course Reserves

Ebooks

 

 

 

Database Search Strategy Worksheet

NoodleBib

NoodleTools helps create accurate citations, reference lists, and annotated bibliographies. For best results, we recommend that you use it in conjugation with the APA manual or Purdue’s Online Writing Lab (OWL).

NoodleTools icon

Need more resources? Visit the library's Citing Sources LibGuide.

More Citation Tools

Sample APA Papers

Fully formatted APA paper thumbnail

Looking for a sample APA paper? Purdue's OWL provides a fully formatted APA paper.

 

Formatting an annotated bibliography.

 

Formatting a running head thumbnail

Formatting a running head.

NEW Women's & Gender Studies Materials

Use the tabs to find the newest library materials related to Women's & Gender Studies or try your own search for items held at Alverno & other SWITCH libraries using the TOPCAT search box.

Questions? Ask a Librarian!

To find print books held at Alverno & the other SWITCH libraries, go to the library home page and use the TOPCAT search box.

Questions? Ask a Librarian!

 

Check back regularly for updates!

The titles below are journals and magazines that we hold in PRINT. We have many more eJournals available through the eJournal portal!

Questions? Ask a Librarian!

Loading

Finding Journal Articles

To find articles on a topic: Visit the library's Databases by Subject page and select
Women's Studies.  Search for articles in any of the selected databases. Also, try many of our other databases using the terms such as "women" or "gender" as part of your search string.
To find an article when you have a citation:  Visit the library's home page and select the Google Scholar link to search the content of Alverno Library's databases as well as the "free" web. Enter the article title into the Google Scholar search box and look for the full text links on the right side of the page.
To find other, high quality information:  Check the Best Web Sites for Women's & Gender Studies page and revisit this LibGuide. Information and resources are updated regularly!
Can't find what you need? Submit an Interlibrary Loan request or Ask a Librarian.

Finding Websites

Anybody can and anybody will post anything online. So, how do you find the good stuff? By visiting the library's Best Websites for Women's & Gender Studies. These quality websites have been vetted by Alverno librarians and are a great place to find free information online.

Not finding what you need? Try using these criteria (courtesy of Kent State University) to evaluate the quality of websites that you find on your own.

Another tip is to use Google's Advanced Search feature which allows you to limit a search by domain. For example, limiting a search to .gov or .edu will only retrieve websites published by government bodies or accredited post secondary educational institutions.

Is it a Credible Source?

Use the valuable information found on the Library's Source Evaluation LibGuide to help you decide.

Assignment Calculator

This time management tool will help you get assignments done on time.

How Do I?

Library Liaison

Sara Shutkin's picture
Sara Shutkin
Contact:
Alverno College Library
Office: CO B8
Phone: 414-382-6202
Social:Twitter Page

Need Help?

Ask a Librarian icon

Library Information

Need more help?

-Stop in for 1-on-1 help. Hours & Location.
-Send us an email.
-Call the research assistance desk at (414)382-6062.
-Library Home Page.
-Library Staff Directory.