Skip to main content

Ancient Art History: AHS210

Library Information

Need more help?

-Stop in for 1-on-1 help. Hours & Location.
-Send us an email.
-Call the research assistance desk at (414)382-6062.
-Library Home Page.
-Library Staff Directory.

Citing in APA

NoodleTools helps create accurate citations, reference lists, and annotated bibliographies. For best results, we recommend that you use it in conjugation with the APA manual or Purdue’s Online Writing Lab (OWL).

NoodleTools icon

Need more resources? Visit the library's Citing Sources LibGuide.

Off Campus Access

To access any library database off-campus log in with your Alverno network ID and password.

Research Tools


For more on finding and citing images online, go to the Citing Sources: Images/Audio LibGuide.

TOPCAT

TOPCAT Tips

  • Keep your searches broad and simple to start. Try 1 or 2 keywords at first.
  • Use the limiters on the left to narrow your results.
  • You'll see other schools listed in your results. They're part of our library consortium, which means we all share materials. If you find something from another school that you want, you can request it and pick it up from our library once it arrives at Alverno.

Ebooks

 

Ebook Central Tips

  • We recommend you read online rather than download your ebook. If you like to take notes or highlight books as you read, reading them online and saving them to your virtual bookshelf ensures you won't lose your notes when your checkout period expires.
  • You'll need to set up a user login to download ebooks or save them to your virtual bookshelf, but it's free and easy to do.
  • Contact a librarian if you have trouble setting up your ebook account.
Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier is a wide-ranging database good for finding information on many different topics.

  • Click the "Choose Databases" link above the search bar to search across multiple Ebsco databases at once.
  • Start with advanced search to help break your question down into manageable keywords
  • If the results aren't what you're looking for, think of synonyms for your keywords. A good way to do this is to look at the SUBJECT terms listed for articles that are in the right direction.
  • Useful limiters: PEER REVIEWED, FULL TEXT, PUBLICATION DATE
JSTOR

JSTOR is good for finding information on Fine Arts.

  • Search in their general search box or browse by title to find the relevant journals, then search within those journals for your topic/artist.
  • Use broad searches for articles on general/cultural information and specific searches for articles on specific topics/artists.
  • Look for the "Journal Articles" limiter to filter out magazine articles, reviews, and literature.
Credo Reference

CREDO is a database of reference materials. You'll find entries from a large collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, and more. This is good for background information but is not where you look for scholarly articles.

  • For information on general concepts or large movements, stick to broad terms (ie: Ancient Egyptian Art)
  • You can also look for specific theories, pieces, movements, and artists (ie: Great Sphinx of Giza)
Loading ...