American Rhetoric Online Speech Bank
This site includes an index to a growing database of 5000+ full text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, and other recorded media events. The links to speeches are arranged alphabetically by first name.
Association for Women in Communications
Founded in 1909 as Theta Sigma Phi at the University of Washington, the organization has evolved from a student honorary women’s journalism fraternity to a strong national network of communicators in a broad range of disciplines.
Gifts of Speech
A project of Sweet Briar College and in existence since 1996, "Gifts of Speech" is a Web site dedicated to preserving and creating access to speeches by influential contemporary, women from around the world.
International Listening Association (ILA)
Established in 1979, the International Listening Association promotes the study, development, and teaching of listening and the practice of effective listening skills and techniques. ILA promotes effective listening by establishing a network of professionals exchanging information including teaching methods, training experiences and materials, and pursuing research as listening affects humanity in, for example, business, education, and intercultural/international relations.
New America Media (NAM)
Founded in 1996 by the alternative news outlet Pacific News Service, NAM is "dedicated to bringing the voices of the marginalized such as ethnic minorities, immigrants, young people, and the elderly into the national discourse. NAM receives English-translated content from 700-plus ethnic media partners. News features which are publicly available online also include video clips and audio programs. Users may browse content in the left column of the home page by Ethnicities, Special Beats, Multimedia, Events, Resources, and Information.
National Communication Association (NCA)
Founded in 1914, the National Communication Association advances Communication as the discipline that studies all forms, modes, media, and consequences of communication through humanistic, social scientific, and aesthetic inquiry. NCA serves the scholars, teachers, and practitioners who are its members by enabling and supporting their professional interests in research and teaching.
Online Writing Lab, Purdue University
Materials, links and services to help writers, writing teachers and undergraduate researchers. An outgrowth of Purdue's Writing Lab by Muriel Harris, Editor of Writing Lab Newsletter.
The PEN America Digital Archive
PEN America is the largest chapter of PEN International, an organization that seeks to promote and preserve freedom of expression and literature. Collected since the PEN America Archive’s beginnings in 1966, this online archive contains audio and video from lectures, panels, and discussions and is freely available via the Web. This resource features some important voices in literature, culture, and thought, speaking about and reading literature in the context of the times in which they lived. Included are voices such as Betty Friedan, Amiri Baraka, Allen Ginsberg, Jeanette Winterson, Johnathan Lethem, and many others. There are approximately 516 audio and 300 video recordings, which total more than 1500 hours.
PoynterOnline - Resource Center
Billed as "everything you need to be a better journalist," this site is maintained by the Poynter Institute, a school for journalists, aspiring journalists and journalism teachers. It is divided into four broad sections: "Poynter Extras," "Bibliographies," "Resource Files," and "Journalism Links," and provides access to information on a wide range of topics such as: media ethics; photojournalism; politics & the press; reporting, writing & editing; visual journalism; and youth & the media among many others.
Say It Plain, Say It Loud: A Century of Great African American Speeches
Produced in conjunction with an American Radio Works radio documentary, this site includes text and links to audio files of speeches by Booker T. Washington, Marcus Garvey, Mary McLeod Bethune, Dick Gregory, Fannie Lou Hamer, Stokely Carmichael, Martin Luther King, Jr., Shirley Chisholm, Barbara Jordan, Jesse Jackson, Clarence Thomas, and Barack Obama.
In existance since 1999, Women's eNews claims to be the definitive source of substantive news--unavailable anywhere else--covering issues of particular concern to women and providing women's perspectives on public policy.
Last Updated 6/20/2017