Skip to main content

Best Websites: Countries & Regions

Countries & Regions Links

Africa South of the Sahara: Selected Internet Resources
Provided by Stanford University Libraries and originating from the African Studies Association, this site provides subject access to information in 35 categories such as art, politics, religion, listings of book dealers specializing in Africana, development discussion groups, student organizations, libraries and archives. Plus, there is a "Regions" feature beginning with materials pertaining to the entire sub-Saharan region followed by links to information on specific countries.
http://library.stanford.edu/africa-south-sahara

Asia Foundation
The Asia Foundation is a nonprofit international development organization working with public and private partners to address critical issues affecting Asia. Their website provides information on Asian government and law, economic development, women's empowerment, environment, and international cooperation. Country-specific information can be found by selecting "Our Work" from the menu at the top of the screen and further selecting, "Where We Work.".
http://asiafoundation.org/

Asia Society
Founded in 1956, Asia Society is a nonpartisan, nonprofit educational institution. The site offers interviews, speeches, podcasts and resources for educators.
http://www.asiasociety.org

BBC News: Country Profiles
This resource from the British Broadcasting Corporation provides concise information not only on countries but on territories and selected international organizations as well. Each county profile includes an overview, which provides brief historical background, and a synopsis of current political events broken down into several sections. Unique features include audio of each country’s national anthem along with a picture of its flag. Selected video and audio clips from the BBC archives are also included.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/country_profiles/default.stm

Background Notes
Produced by the U.S. Department of State, Background Notes are factual publications that contain information on all the countries of the world with which the United States has relations. They include facts on the country's land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and its relations with other countries and the United States.
http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/

Centre for Intercultural Learning
"Think Globally. Act Interculturally" is the motto for the Centre for Intercultural Learning, a division of Canada's Foreign Affairs Service which produced this site. It contains country facts and cultural information organized in sections such as: Country Insights, Intercultures Magazine, The Library, and Articles. Much more than a simple country fact book this site provides insights on social customs and norms similar to Culturegrams.
http://www.international.gc.ca/cil-cai/index.aspx?lang=eng

Country Studies/Area Handbooks
Education, health, political, social and economic information from foreign countries.
http://Lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html

Canadian Heritage
A federally sponsored, bilingual Internet site devoted broadly to Canadian cultural information, Canadian Heritage, is managed by the Department of Canadian Heritage. Presently some 20 federal agencies contribute to the site, including the National Film Board of Canada, Canada Council for the Arts, and Status of Women Canada. The site also points to nongovernmental associations that provide important cultural content, such as the Canadian History Portal and Aboriginal Canada Portal. This site delivers a generous amount of information arranged under 20 broad topics like Aboriginal Culture and Heritage, Museums and Galleries, Nature and Environment, and Performing Arts; a 21st link provides provincial and territorial links to cultural and heritage information.
http://www.pch.gc.ca/eng/1266037002102/1265993639778

Global Gateway: World Culture & Resources
From the Library of Congress, this site is an excellent starting point for both beginning and experienced researchers. The site is a gateway to a growing number of online collections, materials and repositories representing different cultures from around the world. 
http://international.loc.gov/intldl/intldlhome.html

Latin American Network Information Center - LANIC
Established in 1992 and maintained by the University of Texas, this comprehensive site contains hundreds of links to information related to Latin America. It is arranged in broad categories such as: Countries, Economy, Education, Government, Humanities (including Art, Language & Literature), Media & Communication (including News, Magazines, TV & Radio), Recreation (including Food & Sports), Regional Resources, Science (including Health & Oceanography), Social Sciences (including Anthropology, History & Political Science), Society & Culture (including Human Rights, Immigration, Indigenous Peoples & Women's Issues) and Sustainable Development (including Agriculture & Environmental Issues).
http://lanic.utexas.edu/

Middle East Studies Virtual Library (from Columbia University Libraries)
This collection of Middle East Studies Internet Resources is an on-going compilation of research materials on the Middle East and North Africa (in the broadest sense) available on the global Internet created under the direction of the Middle East Studies Department at Columbia University. Found on this site is a vast array of information such as bibliographies, country-specific information, e-journals and news archives, e-texts, images, sound files, reports, art exhibits, maps, flags and geographical data, information on water issues in the region and links to other Middle East-related internet sites.
http://library.columbia.edu/locations/global/virtual-libraries/middle_east_studies.html

Nations of the World (Nations and Associated Jurisdictions)
Part of the Law Library of Congress Guide to Law Online, this site offers a myriad of country information, but with emphasis on links that offer the full texts of laws regulations, and court decisions along with expert commentary from practicing legal professionals. Also, materials related to law and government that were written by or for lay persons have been included, as have government sites providing general information.
http://www.loc.gov/law/help/guide/nations.php

Southeast Asia Digital Library (from Northern Illinois University Libraries)
In 2005, the US Department of Education's Technological Innovation and Cooperation for Foreign Information Access (TICFIA) program awarded a four-year grant to a consortium of institutions from around the world to create the Southeast Asia Digital Library (SEADL). The grant was administered by Northern Illinois University (NIU) Libraries, which also housed and maintained the digital library. The site provides free access to archives of textual, still image, sound, and video resources, covering both historical and current information from the region. Drawn largely from the collections of universities and individual scholars in this region, the SEADL includes digital facsimiles of books and manuscripts, as well as multimedia materials and searchable indexes of additional Southeast Asian resources. Nations represented in the collection include Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.
http://sea.lib.niu.edu/

Te Ara--The Encyclopedia of New Zealand
In Maori, this online-only encyclopedia's name means "the pathway." Created by New Zealand's Ministry for Culture and Heritage with authoritative advisory committees, it offers many avenues for understanding New Zealand, but it is a work in progress. Although already a rich source of information, when complete, it will be a comprehensive guide to the country’s peoples, natural environment, history, culture, economy, institutions and society.
http://www.teara.govt.nz/

The Story of Africa
"Tells the history of the continent from an African perspective, from the origins of humankind to the end of South African apartheid." There are 14 sections covering each period in African history, as well as the people, their religions, and contact with the rest of the world. "Each section has on average six chapters, as well as a timeline, reading list and a list of external links." There are many pictures and over 40 sound recordings. Online edition of the radio series from the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) World Service.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/worldservice/africa/features/storyofafrica/

The World Fact Book
Handy general and up-to-date information on most countries of the world compiled by the CIA.
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/

WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources
A section of the WWW Virtual Library, it is a frequently updated Internet directory of over 2000 annotated links to high-quality English-language resources for a wide range of international affairs, international relations, international studies, global studies, and global education topics. The site also includes links to country and regional information.
http://www.internationalaffairsresources.com/

 

Last Updated 8/3/2017