Skip to main content

Best Websites: Global Studies

Global Studies Links

Centre for Intercultural Learning
"Think Globally. Act Interculturally" is the motto for the Centre for Intercultural Learning, a division of Canada's Foreign Affairs Service which produced this site. It contains country facts and cultural information organized in sections such as: Country Insights, Intercultures Magazine, The Library, and Articles. Much more than a simple country fact book this site provides insights on social customs and norms similar to Culturegrams.
http://www.international.gc.ca/cil-cai/index.aspx?lang=eng

Cultural Survival
Promoting the rights, voices and visions of indigenous peoples.” Resource provides full text access to three publications. Issues covering conflict and migration, culture, health, indigenous enterprise and natural resources.
https://www.culturalsurvival.org/

EU Bookshop
The European Union Bookshop is an online bookshop, library and archive of publications dating back to 1952. It contains 110,000 titles and 235,000 corresponding electronic versions (PDFs, e-books) in more than 50 languages, including the 24 official languages of the EU. The vast majority of titles on EU Bookshop are authored by EU institutions such as the European Commission, European Parliament, Council of the EU, EU agencies and other bodies. Some titles are produced jointly with partner publishers and/or other international organizations. Others are written by individuals whose work is endorsed by the institution they work for.
https://bookshop.europa.eu/en/home/

The Globalist
Online “think tank” dedicated to democratizing global economic thinking. Full text articles and graphics, on issues including global development, economy, health & politics. Offers links to specific regions and a search engine.
http://www.theglobalist.com/

Global Policy Forum (GPF) - Globalization
Founded in 1993, Global Policy Forum is an independent policy watchdog that monitors the work of the United Nations and scrutinizes global policymaking. They promote accountability and citizen participation in decisions on peace and security, social justice and international law. GPF gathers information and circulates it through a comprehensive website, as well as through reports and newsletters. They play an active role in NGO networks and other advocacy arenas. They organize meetings and conferences and publish original research and policy papers. Their web site provides much useful information on globalization and its effects.
https://www.globalpolicy.org/globalization.html

Globalization101
Globalization101.org is an Internet resource offered by the Levin Institute to promote a greater understanding of globalization. It addresses issues such as: addresses the following issues: What is globalization? Is it the integration of economic, political, and cultural systems across the globe? Or is it Americanization and United States dominance of world affairs? Is globalization a force for economic growth, prosperity, and democratic freedom? Or is it a force for environmental devastation, exploitation of the developing world, and suppression of human rights?
http://www.globalization101.org/

Human Rights Documentation Initiative
The Human Rights Documentation Initiative (HRDI) is a project of the University of Texas Libraries to make the record of human rights violations, especially genocide, available online. The website has three components: Archived Documentation, Archived Web Resources, and University of Texas Collections.
https://www.lib.utexas.edu/hrdi

Human Rights Topical Research Digest
A compilation of research summaries of human rights topics since the fall of 2004 authored by graduate students of the University of Denver’s Graduate School of International Studies. These extensive reviews are comprised of annotated and abstracted bibliographies, introduced by interpretive essays. Each Digest is further organized into sub-categories within its area of focus.
http://www.du.edu/korbel/hrhw/researchdigest/

Human Rights Watch
From the HRW website in the About section: “Human Rights Watch is an independent, nongovernmental organization, supported by contributions from private individuals and foundations worldwide. It accepts no government funds, directly or indirectly. Human Rights Watch is dedicated to protecting the human rights of people around the world.”
https://www.hrw.org/

International Crisis Group
Based in Brussels, the International Crisis Group (Crisis Group) is an independent, non-profit, non-governmental organization, with 120 staff members on five continents. The organization works to prevent and resolve deadly conflict by using field-based analysis and high-level advocacy working closely with governments and those who influence them, including the media. Their web site provides a wealth of information including reports and briefing papers documenting activities in close to 60 countries, conflict histories, and links to early warning resources and maps. Also, they publish CrisisWatch, a twelve-page monthly bulletin which provides succinct regular updates making it easy to follow developments in conflict situations. The site includes an archive of the bulletin going back to September 2003.
http://www.crisisgroup.org/

Matrix—The Center for Humane Arts, Letters & Social Sciences Online
An international interdisciplinary organization of scholars and teachers dedicated to developing the enormous educational potential of the Internet and the World Wide Web. Links to H-Net: Humanities & Social Sciences Online and Historical Voices, a fully functional multimedia digital library.
http://www2.matrix.msu.edu/

OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books,  papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. Subjects covered include: Agriculture and Food; Development; Economics; Education; Employment; Energy; Environment; Finance and Investment; Governance; Industry and Services; Nuclear Energy; Science and Technology; Social Issues/Migration/Health; Taxation; Trade; Transport; Urban, Rural and Regional Development. the site also includes content from theInternational Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), theOECD Development Centre,PISA(Programmefor International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF). Information on the site can be read online, but cannot be downloaded.
http://www.oecd-ilibrary.org/

OneWorld
Launched in 2000, OneWorld publishes U.S and international perspectives on global issues gathered from OneWorld partners which includes a vast network of nongovernmental organizations, development-oriented news services, foundations, and research institutions. The OneWorld network spans five continents and produces content in 11 different languages on topics as wide ranging as AIDS, Food Security, Climate Change, Migration, Refugees, Gender, Water & Sanitation and Child Labor to name a few.
http://oneworld.org/

ReliefWeb
Launched in October 1996 and administered by the the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA), ReliefWeb provides information (including over 300,000 documents and maps and some country-specific information) on humanitarian emergencies and disasters. It provides timely, reliable and relevant information as events unfold, while also emphasizing the coverage of "forgotten emergencies."
http://www.reliefweb.int

Transparency International
This web site provides resources to understand and combat corruption. It describes itself as a politically nonpartisan organization. The site defines corruption as “the abuse of entrusted power for private gain.” Most of the articles found in this collection are timely and available without charge. A good starting point to begin exploring this global issue.
http://www.transparency.org/

UNdata
This site gathers statistics from 24 separate databases from the United Nations and makes them all accessible through one search interface. When a data set is located, the user is presented with an option to preview the data. The data can then be customized using country or area and time period filters. Researchers can select which columns they would like to be displayed and decide how they would like the elements to be sorted. There is also an option to “link to this page,” so that a permanent URL will be created for the data.
http://data.un.org/

UNESCO – Culture
Stresses the cultural issues raised by globalization and the need to support the principle of diversity. This resource includes project work, news, calendars and special focus on World Heritage, Tangible and Intangible Heritage, Cultural Industries and Copyright.
http://en.unesco.org/themes/protecting-our-heritage-and-fostering-creativity

WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources
A section of the WWW Virtual Library, it is a frequently updated Internet directory of over 2000 annotated links to high-quality English-language resources for a wide range of international affairs, international relations, international studies, global studies, and global education topics.
http://www.internationalaffairsresources.com/

Yale Center for the Study of Globalization
This Web site is arranged around reports, task force documents, papers, and conference presentations dealing with topics including global trade reform, climate change, peace and security, health, foreign policy and economic governance. The primary publication and most valuable resource is YaleGlobal Online, which provides the latest information on globalization issues.
http://www.ycsg.yale.edu/

 

Last Updated 6/22/2017