Skip to main content

Best Websites: Women's & Gender Studies

Links to government, educational, and organizational websites that provide quality women's & gender studies-related information and resources.

General Women's & Gender Studies Links

Best of the Web: Women’s Studies
Created by the New York Public Library to provide resources available on the Internet.
http://www.nypl.org/weblinks/2139

Digital Librarian - Women's Resources
A Librarian's choice of the best of the web.
http://www.digital-librarian.com/women.html

Distinguished Women of the Past and Present
This site has biographies of women who contributed to our culture in many different ways. There are writers, educators, scientists, heads of state, politicians, civil rights crusaders, artists, entertainers, and others. Some were alive hundreds of years ago and some are living today. We've heard of some of them, while many more have been ignored by history book writers.
http://www.distinguishedwomen.com/

Gender and Society
Links to materials relating to issues and debates in gender studies, the site is maintained by Professor Michael Kearl of Trinity University.
http://www.trinity.edu/~mkearl/gender.html

Gifts of Speech
A project of Sweet Briar College and in existance since 1996, "Gifts of Speech" is a Web site dedicated to preserving and creating access to speeches by influential contemporary, women from around the world.
http://www.giftsofspeech.org

International Center for Research on Women
This Web site provides access to a library collection of over 13,000 reports, books, fact sheets, and policy briefs that focus on gender and women's issues in an international context. The site includes access to fact sheets, surveys, policy briefs, and brochures on global issues with a focus on women and gender. The first time one attempts to download a report or other item from the site, a simple request for user information will be included, but access to the resources is free.
http://www.icrw.org/

United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) Gender Statistics Website
Developed by the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe, in collaboration with National Statistical Offices in the ECE region, this site was launched in October 2000 to bring together both gender statistics and policies focusing on the production, dissemination and use of gender related data. In addition to statistics, this site outlines some of the main gender issues relevant to the region, and provides examples of policies and other initiatives.
http://www.unece.org/stats/gender/

UN Women
This siteis a relatively new project of the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women.  This international agency supports policy formation, with the goal of leading and coordinating the work of the UN on gender equality.  Rich content is available in the site's News and Digital Library sections, the latter comprising publications  such as  Handbook on Effective Prosecution Responses to Violence against Women and Girls and short videos (e.g., Thailand: Losing Ground).  There are a wide variety of resources available which can be read or viewed online, downloaded, or shared via social media.
http://www.unwomen.org/en

University of Wisconsin System Women's Studies Librarians Office
Includes its publications (eg. Feminist Collections; A Quarterly of Women's Studies Resources, bibliographies, guides to resources on UW-Madison Campus, core book list, etc.) and links to other Women's Studies resources.
http://womenst.library.wisc.edu/

USAID Office of Gender Equality & Women's Empowerment
The USAID Office of Gender Equality & Women's Empowerment was established as a part of the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) in 1974 to help ensure that women participate fully and benefit equally from the U.S. development assistance programs. It provides assistance with the integration of gender considerations throughout USAID programs and it also supports activities in the following areas: women's economic growth, gender equity in education, women's legal rights, and human trafficking.
https://www.usaid.gov/what-we-do/gender-equality-and-womens-empowerment

Violence Against Women
Violence Against Women (VAW), a section of the National Women’s Health Information Center, provides information on a variety of violence issues facing society from domestic or interpersonal violence against women to bullying children and elder abuse. The site is easy to navigate. It includes data on violent acts against women and is a resource for information and help in dealing with personal violence.
http://www.womenshealth.gov/violence-against-women/

WGSSLINKS: Women and Gender Studies Web Sites
A project of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Women AND Gender Studies Section, the site has broad coverage and is divided into 16 topical areas: General Sites, Archives, Art, Business, Culture (mostly Literature), Education, Film, Health, History, International, Lesbian Sites, Music, Philosophy, Politics, Science and Technology, and Theology. Also included are links to a large variety of resources including bibliographies, reports, articles, and other publications; reference works; organizations; directories; discussion lists; and topical megasites.
http://www.libr.org/wgss/wgsslinks/index.html

WHO: Gender, Equity and Human Rights
The Gender, Equity and Human Rights team of the World Health Organization maintains this site and works to address disparities (caused by gender inequalities, inequities and lack of human rights-based approaches) to ensure better health for all.
http://www.who.int/gender-equity-rights/en/

WomanStats Project
Through the efforts of research assistants and professors at several US universities, the WomanStatsProject (WSP) seeks to examine the relationship between the circumstances of women and the stability of particular nations. WSP compiles information about women's issues from sources such as governmental agencies, scholarly articles, books, news reports, and interviews. To search the WSP database, users must create a free account and choose from selected variables based on the codes and acronyms provided.
http://www.womanstats.org/index.htm

Women's eNews
In existance since 1999, Women's eNews claims to be the definitive source of substantive news--unavailable anywhere else--covering issues of particular concern to women and providing women's perspectives on public policy.
http://www.womensenews.org

WomensLaw.org
This site provides practical legal help for victims of domestic violence. Tabs for seven broad sections (Staying Safe, Know the Laws, Preparing for Court, Learn about Abuse, Where to Find Help, Helping Others, and Legal Statutes) are included on every page. The site serves diverse populations; it is available in Spanish, and it features sections for teens, male victims, and people living on military bases. Additionally, sections on tribal law and Jewish divorce law are available. There are several pages of links to national and local organizations, including shelters and legal aid, organized by state. Also found on every page are the National Domestic Violence Hotline number and an Ask a Question button.
http://www.womenslaw.org/

WomenWatch
Founded in 1997 to monitor the results of the Fourth World Conference on Women, Beijing, 1995, and to continue the momentum and visibility of the issues brought about by the conference, WomenWatch brings together Web sites containing important United Nations (UN) documents and publications, country reports, statistics, and news on global women's issues. The site also provides access to international information on women's rights, current news articles, and UN radio programs on topics such as violence against women and HIV/AIDS and gender.
http://www.un.org/womenwatch/

 

Last Updated 7/26/2017