Skip to main content

Best Websites: Women's & Gender Studies

Links to government, educational, and organizational websites that provide quality women's & gender studies-related information and resources.

Women's History Sites

American Women
This is a gateway to Library of Congress resources for the study of women's history and culture in the United States.
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/awhhtml/

American Women Through Time
This site, hosted by Middle Tennessee State University, is a timeline of American Women’s History stretching from prehistory to the present. It includes links to other timeline sites, sites on notable women, state-specific sites and topical sites such as art, various ethnic groups, religion, etc.
http://www.mtsu.edu/~kmiddlet/history/women/wh-timeline.html

Discovering American Women’s History Online
Created by Ken Middleton of Middle Tennessee State University, this database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States in a format that has multiple browse and search options. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to Katrina Thomas's photographs of ethnic weddings from the late 20th century.
http://digital.mtsu.edu/cdm/landingpage/collection/women

Distinguished Women of the Past and Present
This site has biographies of women who contributed to our culture in many different ways. There are writers, educators, scientists, heads of state, politicians, civil rights crusaders, artists, entertainers, and others. Some were alive hundreds of years ago and some are living today. We've heard of some of them, while many more have been ignored by history book writers.
http://www.distinguishedwomen.com/

National Archives and Records Administration Featured Documents--The Constitution: the 19th Amendment
The 19th Amendment to the United States Constituion granted women the right to vote in 1920.
http://www.archives.gov/exhibits/featured_documents/amendment_19/

National Women’s History Museum
Although the national Women’s History Museum was founded in 1996, it is still working to win congressional approval for a building site on the mall in Washington, D.C. Educational and outreach efforts are currently concentrated on the web. The web site of the National Women’s History Museum offers a number of educational resources. Most notable are 17 online exhibits that use varied materials, including stamps, documents, and historical photos to explore themes in American women’s history. Although the exhibits don’t go into great detail, they frequently highlight lesser known individuals or issues, such as the 19th-century sisters who were the first Chinese American women to have their writings published.
http://www.nwhm.org

National Women’s History Project
The national Women’s History project was founded in 1980 to recognize and celebrate the diverse and historic accomplishments of women by providing information and educational materials and programs. Their award-winning web site, launched in 1997, serves as a clearinghouse for information on multicultural women’s history. Most useful is the “Resource Center” which provides resources such as a biography center, great speeches and information on topics like “path breakers,” “National Nurses Week,” “Women’s Equality Day,””International Women’s Day,” “Black History Month,” and “Honored Latinas.”
http://www.nwhp.org

Rights for Women: The Suffrage Movement and Its Leaders
Found on the website of the National Women's History Museum, this online exhibit is quite thorough. Also included are biographies of key leaders, examples of suffrage political cartoons, a timeline and links to additional resources found both on the site and elsewhere.
http://www.nwhm.org/online-exhibits/rightsforwomen/tableofcontents.html

Women Working, 1800-1930
Part of Harvard’s “open Collection” program, this site focuses the role of women in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections. The site includes approximately 500,000 digitized pages and images from 7500 manuscript pages, 3500 books and pamphlets, and 1200 photographs.
http://ocp.hul.harvard.edu/ww/

Women's Studies in Digital Archives
This Web-based project of the Women's Studies Section of the Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL) identifies women's studies content available in broad digital collections of primary sources such as books, diaries/letters/personal papers, pamphlets, broadsides/posters, postcards, photographs, maps, musical scores, sound recordings, spoken word recordings, and statistical data. It can be browsed by collection title, primary source type, and subject. The review page for each digital archive includes information on the women’s studies content found within.
http://www.bama.ua.edu/~mbarrett/WSinDigitalArchives/Home.htm

Women's Suffrage and the Media
This site was created by members of the American Journalism Historians Association which includes the editors and several editorial board members of the academic journal, American Journalism: A Journal of Media History (they will be publishing a special issue on this theme in April 2019 to commemorate the 2020 centennial anniversary of women’s suffrage in the United States.) Launched in June 2017, the site is intended to serve as a multimedia resource companion to that special suffrage issue. Included is an ever-growing collection of media-related suffrage content and when possible direct access to primary and secondary sources or, when restrictions prevent display, information about where and how to locate and obtain them.
http://suffrageandthemedia.org/

 

Last Updated 8/14/2017