Skip to main content

Best Websites: Asian Studies

Arts & Humanities

Art

American Museum of Natural History
In this exhibition, we invite you to journey through a changing Vietnam and to experience the incredible diversity of its landscape and its people.
http://www.amnh.org/exhibitions/vietnam/

Arts of Asia
The Minneapolis Institute of Arts. Collection represents 17 Asian cultures spanning nearly 5,000 years, with focus on China, Japan and Tibet.
http://archive.artsmia.org/art-of-asia/

AsianArt
A resource dedicated to all aspects of Asian art worldwide. Displays highlights of exhibitions in public and private institutions and galleries.
http://www.asianart.com/about.html

Huntington Archive of Buddhist and Related Art
A photographic and teaching archive, containing nearly 300,000 original color slides and black and white and color photographs of art and architecture throughout Asia.
http://huntingtonarchive.org/

Metropolitan Museum of Art - Asian Art Collection
Paintings, calligraphy, prints, sculpture, ceramics, bronzes, jades, lacquer, textiles, and screens from ancient to modern China, Japan, Korea, and South and Southeast Asia.
http://www.metmuseum.org/about-the-met/curatorial-departments/asian-art

National Palace Museum
Chinese art and crafts collection. Includes a digital museum, virtual tours and downloads.
http://www.npm.gov.tw/english/index-e.htm

Pacific Asia Museum
An on-line collection of images and educator resources.
http://www.pacificasiamuseum.org

Dance

World of Butoh Dance
Includes information about events, groups, including DajRakudaKan and GooSavTen; also legendary performers such as Hijikata Tatsumi and Ohno Kazuo.
http://www.ne.jp/asahi/butoh/itto/butoh-e.htm

Literature

The World of Asian Books
This is a Library of Congress interactive guide to their Asian book collection. Includes both classic and contemporary examples of Asian literature.
http://www.loc.gov/rr/asian/guide/

Bibliography of Asian and Pacific Islander American Literature
Point to the “Education” category and choose “For Teachers” or “For Students” to access lengthy high quality bibliographies.
http://www.wingluke.org/

SASIALIT: Literature of South Asia and the Indian Diaspora
The site of the mailing list SASIALIT has two major benefits. First is the link to the archives of the mailing list and second is the list of South Asian literature resources online. These include e-journals, bibliographies and authors’ pages.
http://sasialit.org/

Chinese Classical Literature
Of interest to anyone interested in Chinese literature and the Chinese language. There are seven classical texts displayed in Chinese. In addition, there are English translations and character-by-character explications of the etymology of each word.
http://www.zhongwen.com

Modern Chinese Literature and Culture Resource Center
Click on “Book Reviews” to access online reviews published by the journal Modern Chinese Literature and Culture. This site also contains bibliographies of mostly English-language materials on modern Chinese literature, film, art, and culture.
http://www.mclc.osu.edu/

Updated 7/25/17