Skip to main content

Best Websites: Education

Links to government, educational, and organizational websites that provide quality education-related information and resources.

General Education Links

U.S. Department of Education
Links to education funding, financial assistance, research, statistics, news, events, services, publications, and U. S. Department of Education offices and budget, plus search ERIC from here.
http://www.ed.gov

Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
Links to web sites with an emphasis on libraries and PK-12 schools.
http://www.dpi.state.wi.us/

Wisconsin Information Network for Successful Schools – WINSS
Links users to key local, state and national information about success in education as found on the DPI Web site and other valuable resources. WINSS is now retired but this link is a portal/guide to where their resources are now stored.
http://dpi.wi.gov/wisedash/winss

The Educator's Reference Desk
Valuable links to lesson plans, resource guides, and ASKERIC question archives.
http://www.eduref.org

ERIC Database
Free version of the ERIC database from the U.S. Department of Education.
http://www.eric.ed.gov

National Center for Education Statistics
Provides Education statistics and access to the National Public School Locator for correct name, address, phone number and other characteristics of a public school or school district.
http://nces.ed.gov/index.asp

Digital Classroom
Part of the National Archives education program on the Internet. Offers lessons featuring archival documents and promoting critical thinking skills. Documents include historical background and teaching activities that match National Standards for History, Civics and Government.
http://www.archives.gov/digital_classroom/index.html/

Faculty Development: Teaching Tips Index
Information on handling the first day, preparing syllabi, lesson plans, assessments, teaching techniques, how people learn, motivating students, academic and workplace skills, and more.
http://www.honolulu.hawaii.edu/facdev/guidebk/teachtip/teachtip.htm

Explorations in Learning & Instruction: The Theory Into Practice Database
Links to brief summaries of 50 major theories of learning and instruction. http://web.stanford.edu/dept/SUSE/projects/ireport/articles/general/Educational%20Theories%20Summary.pdf

Education Degree
A searchable list of over 20,000 teaching degrees and certificates from more than 1,700 colleges and school districts across the US.
http://www.educationdegree.com/

Zinn Education Project
The Zinn Education Project promotes and supports the teaching of people's history in middle and high school classrooms across the country. The website offers free, downloadable lessons and articles organized by theme, time period, and reading level. The Zinn Education Project is coordinated by two non-profit organizations, Rethinking Schools and Teaching for Change.
https://zinnedproject.org/

Updated 10/3/17