Skip to main content

Best Websites: Healthcare

Quality websites on nursing and healthcare topics

Nursing

Organizations

American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN)
AACN serves as "the national voice for America's baccalaureate and higher-degree nursing education programs". As part of their work they are engaged in advocacy programs and initiatives, nursing education enhancement initiatives, and research across the field. The site provides access to AACN position statements, white papers, in-house newsletters, and other important documents.
http://www.aacn.nche.edu/index.htm

American Nurses Association
This site provides information on current issues in nursing and includes a career center with a searchable job database. While some of the content is limited to members only, much of the information is available for free.
http://www.nursingworld.org/

International Council of Nurses (ICN)
Founded in 1899, the ICN is a federation of more than 130 national nurses associations. ICN works to ensure quality nursing care for all and sound health policies globally.
http://www.icn.ch/

National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN)
This nonprofit membership organization is comprised of State Boards of Nursing from the United States and its territories. It is the body that develops and administers the National Council Licensure Examination. This website includes a Boards of Nursing directory.
https://www.ncsbn.org/index.htm

National League for Nursing (NLN)
The NLN is a membership organization whose mission is to promote “excellence in nursing education to build a strong and diverse nursing workforce to advance the nation's health”. Its website provides information on continuing education opportunities, public policy and advocacy resources, and information on research grants and funding.
http://www.nln.org/


NCLEX

Nursing LibGuide: NCLEX
Created by Alverno librarians, this guide provides access to numerous resources that will help students succeed on the NCLEX exam.
http://libguides.alverno.edu/nursing/nclex


Nursing Theory

Nursing LibGuide: Nursing Theory
Created by Alverno librarians, this guide provides access to books, e-books, and other resources on nursing theories and theorists.
http://libguides.alverno.edu/nursing/theory

Nursing Theories: A Companion to Nursing Theories and Models
Found on the Current Nursing web portal, this page provides access to information on nursing theories and theorists. This site also features a Quiz Corner that allows users to test their knowledge of nursing theory.
http://currentnursing.com/nursing_theory/

Updated 7/10/19