Skip to main content

Best Websites: History

African American History

African-American Women: Duke University Libraries
Focuses on the lives of African-American women and offers a rare firsthand glimpse into the lives of slaves in Virginia and Georgia through selected letters.
http://library.duke.edu/specialcollections/collections/digitized/african-american-women/

Antislavery Literature
This unique site collocates materials of various types--original and linked digitized books, Web sites, teaching guides, video--having to do with the historical antislavery movement in America. Among the materials are works of fiction, speeches, poetry, travel accounts, and slave narratives.
http://antislavery.eserver.org/

The Archive, from the Martin Luther King Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change
The aim of this web site is to give students and researchers a starting point from which to view online materials from the collection of the King Library and Archives, located in Atlanta. The Archives consists of Martin Luther King's papers and those of the organization he cofounded, the Southern Christian Leadership Conference. Users will find a basic search box in the website's left corner; clicking the icon of a gear leads to advanced search options.
http://www.thekingcenter.org/archive/

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
Documents the experiences of peoples of African descent throughout the world, with emphasis on blacks in the Western hemisphere. This site provides researchers access and reference to documents, art and artifacts, manuscripts, monographs, photographs, moving pictures, and more.
http://www.nypl.org/locations/schomburg

Updated 7/25/17