Skip to main content

Best Websites: History

Civil Rights

The Archive, from the Martin Luther King Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change
The aim of this web site is to give students and researchers a starting point from which to view online materials from the collection of the King Library and Archives, located in Atlanta. The Archives consists of Martin Luther King's papers and those of the organization he cofounded, the Southern Christian Leadership Conference. Users will find a basic search box in the website's left corner; clicking the icon of a gear leads to advanced search options.
http://www.thekingcenter.org/archive/

Civil Rights Digital Library
At the core of this project are the unedited film archives of WSB-TV (Atlanta) and WALB-TV (Albany), held at the university's Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection. Users may view these news clips online with RealPlayer, Windows Media Player, or Flash. Additionally, the site provides access to an array of other digitized archival materials in over 140 collections held by 91 entities in the US. Site materials are organized according to Events, Places, People, Topics, Media Types, Contributing Institutions, Educator Resources, and alphabetically. 
http://crdl.usg.edu

The Malcolm X Project at Columbia University
This site promotes the study of Malcolm X and seeks to generate an ongoing conversation about his impact on U.S. society. All parts of the site are freely accessible except The Autobiography of Malcolm X MSE, which is restricted to Columbia University students. The site includes film clips, interviews and audio from Malcolm X’s speeches.
http://www.columbia.edu/cu/ccbh/mxp/index.html

State of Siege: Mississippi Whites and the Civil Rights Movement
This radio documentary looks into the role that certain groups of white people played in combating the civil rights movement in Mississippi. The program includes interviews and commentary from a wide range of persons, and there is particularly good coverage of one well-known race riot at the University of Mississippi and the Citizens' Council, whose goal was to maintain white supremacy. The site is rounded out by a selection of links and resources and social media buttons designed to allow users to share the program with others.
http://americanradioworks.publicradio.org/features/mississippi/

Voices of Civil Rights
This collaborative effort of the American Association of Retired Persons, Leadership Conference on Civil Rights, and Library of Congress seeks to collect the personal stories of participants of modern civil rights movements from 1945 through 1975. The Web site's centerpiece is profiles of activists from the many reform organizations associated with the 1960s, including the African American Civil Rights Movement, the American Indian Movement, and the Chicano, gay rights, environmental, and women's movements.
http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/civilrights/

Updated 7/25/17