Skip to main content

Best Websites: History

Immigration

Ellis Island (The American Family Immigration History Center)
This site allows visitors to explore the collection of immigrant arrival records stored in the Ellis Island Archives. The site contains ship manifest records of immigrants entering the United States through Ellis Island and the Port of New York between 1892 and 1924.
http://www.ellisisland.org/

Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
From the Harvard University Libraries, this site provides online access to U.S. immigration resources, including approximately 1,800 books and pamphlets, 9,000 photographs, and over 10,000 pages from manuscript and archival collections. The full text of each book can be printed or saved to disk as a PDF file, in whole or in part, and the thousands of manuscript/archival pages are available for print or downloading. Subjects include topics, themes, people, and organizations, as well as a time line that contains links to relevant material in the collection.
http://ocp.hul.harvard.edu/immigration/

Yearbook of Immigration Statistics
Part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security web site, this database aggregates data tables on foreign nationals who have been granted lawful permanent residence, or have been admitted on a temporary basis, or have been granted refugee or asylum status, or are becoming naturalized citizens. The database also provides statistics on immigration law enforcement actions.
http://www.dhs.gov/files/statistics/publications/yearbook.shtm

Updated 7/25/17