Skip to main content

Best Websites: History

Newspapers

Newspaper Collections and Archives

AMDOCS Documents for the Study of American History
Text of about 500 documents and links to other sites about the American experience (15th - 20th Centuries).
http://www.vlib.us/amdocs/

The Archive, from the Martin Luther King Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change
The aim of this web site is to give students and researchers a starting point from which to view online materials from the collection of the King Library and Archives, located in Atlanta. The Archives consists of Martin Luther King's papers and those of the organization he cofounded, the Southern Christian Leadership Conference. Users will find a basic search box in the website's left corner; clicking the icon of a gear leads to advanced search options.
http://www.thekingcenter.org/archive/

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (BETA)
This site is a project of the National Digital Newspaper Program, a partnership between the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities. There are 310,000 digitized newspaper pages, dating from 1900 to 1910.
http://www.loc.gov/chroniclingamerica/

eHistory
Hosted and maintained by the History department of Ohio State University, this site contains historical reference materials from the following periods: Ancient, Middle Ages, United States Civil War, World War II, Vietnam War, Middle East and world history. Special features include multi-media sections, primary source materials and book reviews.
http://ehistory.osu.edu/

Library of Congress
Includes virtual exhibits of "American Memory" and "American Treasures", resources for educators, research tools such as catalogs of the Library of Congress and other libraries, databases on special topics, and links to other related sites.
http://www.loc.gov

Library of Congress American Memory
Archival material relating to U.S. history and culture.
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/amhome.html

National Archives and Records Administration
Historical records of three branches of the U.S. federal government (executive, legislative and judicial). Includes an online exhibit hall and links to related sites.
http://www.nara.gov/

National Humanities Center
The National Humanities Center is the only independent institute in the nation devoted to advanced studies in the humanities. Of particular interest is the tab Toolbox Library, subtitled Primary Resources in US History and Literature. Assembled here is a wealth of carefully selected digital resources aimed at classroom use. At present 11 toolboxes appear (with a promise of more to come), each arranged chronologically and thematically. The first, American Beginnings: The European Presence in North America, 1492-1690, is divided into the themes Exploration, Settlement, Permanence, and Power.
http://nationalhumanitiescenter.org/

Ration Coupons on the Home Front, 1942-1945
During World War II, the United States government started the mandatory rationing of items, including gasoline, food, tires, cars, and footwear. This digital collection from the Duke University Libraries brings together ration stamps and other materials issued by the Office of Price Administration from 1942-1945. Visitors should start with the "History" sections, which provides a chronology of rationing during the war period.
http://library.duke.edu/digitalcollections/hfc/

Scholars Lab
Created and maintained by the University of Virginia Library, this site contains digitized texts of primary sources in the humanities. Highlights include strong collections in English and American literature and American Civil War history. Some collections are only available to University of Virginia students, faculty and staff.
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/scholarslab/resources/text/

U.S. West: Photographs, Manuscripts, and Imprints
This collection brings together over 540 digitized items, including Alexander Gardner's 1867 portfolio, "Across the Continent on the Kansas Pacific Railroad (Route of the 35th Parallel)". Also part of the collections here are postcards of cowgirls, Native Americans in Oklahoma, and lantern slides of Mexico and California. Visitors should not miss the "Stereographs of the Dakota Territory", which include late 19th century images of Deadwood and Crook City. The site is rounded out by a photographic study by William Henry Jackson titled "Les geysers d'Amerique".
http://digitalcollections.smu.edu/all/cul/wes/

Updated 7/25/17