Skip to main content

Best Websites: History

Wisconsin History

Dictionary of Wisconsin History
Begun in the summer of 2004 in conjunction with the "Turning Points in Wisconsin History" digital collection, the "Dictionary of Wisconsin History" contains nearly 1,000 entries, including more than 120 names for Indian tribes who have lived in Wisconsin, dozens of words from fur-trade or logging jargon, and more than 300 short entries for important people. It is searchable by keyword or it can be browsed alphabetically.
http://www.wisconsinhistory.org/dictionary

Remember When...
Prepared by the Milwaukee Public Library, these historic photographs of Milwaukee were published in the "Remember When..." feature which appeared in the Milwaukee Journal's Green Sheet section from 1963 through 1994. The collection can be browsed or searched and includes an option to group photographs to compare or view as a slideshow. 
http://content.mpl.org/

Turning Points in Wisconsin History
Wisconsin Historical Society site offers documents and commentary relating to key events and themes in Wisconsin History.
http://www.wisconsinhistory.org/turningpoints

Wisconsin Heritage Online
Initiated in 2004 as a collaborative project of Wisconsin cultural heritage institutions, Wisconsin Heritage Online is a digital history resource that includes photographs, postcards, newspapers, books, diaries, and audiorecordings highlighting Wisconsin's rich history.
http://wisconsinheritage.org/

WTMJ News Archive and WTMJ Newsfilm Collection
The WTMJ News Archive is a catalog of news stories broadcast from 1950 to 1980 by WTMJ-TV, an NBC-affiliated station located in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Stories cover all aspects of Milwaukee history including politics, business and industry, sports, entertainment, and social justice movements. For digitized clips, search the WTMJ Newsfilm Collection.
WTMJ News Archive: http://uwm.edu/wtmjsearch/     WTMJ Newsfilm Collection: http://collections.lib.uwm.edu/cdm/search/collection/wtmj