Skip to main content

Best Websites: Language & Literature

Literature

Internet Public Library Online Literary Criticism Collection
Links to critical and biographical sites regarding authors and their works. Browse by author, title, or literary period. This site is no longer being updated but its archives are fully accessible.
http://www.ipl.org/div/litcrit/

Library of Congress Poetry Website
Features a number of contemporary poets and their work. Visitors can also learn about the current poet laureate and take in a few webcasts from the “Poet Vision” series. Of special interest to students and educators is the “For Teachers & Students” area which highlights resources designed to bring poetry into the classroom in an experiential fashion.
http://www.loc.gov/poetry/

Literature Resources
Searchable site maintained by Jack Lynch at Rutgers University. Select categories to view annotated links to internet sites dealing with American and English literature. Limited to collections of information useful to academics.
http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/Lit/

The Paris Review
This site provides access to digitized versions of issues from an important journal of literature and creative writing. It is partially funded by the National Endowment for the Arts. Includes both print and audio interviews with most of the major writers of the last 50 years.
http://www.theparisreview.org/back-issues

Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database
A collection of more than 73,000 historical and critical citations about the related genres of science fiction, fantasy, and horror. Coverage extends to the present and encompasses both scholarly and fan writing.
http://sffrd.library.tamu.edu/

Scholars Lab
Created and maintained by the University of Virginia Library, this site contains digitized texts of primary sources in the humanities. Highlights include strong collections in English and American literature and American Civil War history. Some collections are only available to University of Virginia students, faculty and staff.
http://scholarslab.org/

Turning the Pages
This project features 15 digitized books from the British Library, including works by William Blake (Notebook) and Leonardo da Vinci (Sketches). Turning the pages electronically truly mimics the way a researcher would examine a book. One can magnify the images, moving the magnifier around the page at will. The site offers helpful notes, in written form and in audio format, which describe the page one is seeing. Additionally, clicking on a button provides general background notes on the book. For non Microsoft Vista users, this tool requires the Adobe Shockwave plug-in.
http://www.bl.uk/onlinegallery/virtualbooks/index.html

Twentieth Century Poetry in English
Information on poets and texts of their works, links to other poetry sites, and tips on searching for electronic texts of poems.
http://www.lit.kobe-u.ac.jp/~hishika/20c_poet.htm

The Victorian Web
Created as a resource for Victorian literature courses taught at Brown. Offers informed secondary interpretation of Victorian period. Sections include Genre & Technique, Authors, Victorian Web Books, Bibliography, and Related WWW Resources. Searchable site.
http://www.victorianweb.org/

The Victorian Women Writers Project
Site for scholars, researchers, and students of Victorian studies.
http://webapp1.dlib.indiana.edu/vwwp/welcome.do

The Willa Cather Archive
This collection includes digital transcriptions of five Cather books, all of her short fiction from before 1912, the complete run of "Cather Studies", multiple biographies, and several virtual tours of Cather-related locales. These materials can be located by using the search engine offered here or by clicking around sections that include "Writings", "Letters", "Life", "Gallery", and "Multimedia".
http://cather.unl.edu/

Women Writers
Developed and maintained by a Ph.D. student at Texas A&M, this site offers articles and many links to other sites about women writers from Early Modern times to the 20th century. 
http://www.womenwriters.net/

Wright American Fiction Collection
From the Huntington Library, the Wright American Fiction Collection is a bibliography of American fiction from 1851-1875. It is considered the most comprehensive bibliography of American adult fiction of the 18tha nd 19th centuries.
http://webapp1.dlib.indiana.edu/TEIgeneral/welcome.do?brand=wright