Skip to main content

Best Websites: Latin American Studies

General Resources

Latin American Network Information Center
University of Texas. A comprehensive subject directory in 3 lanuguages. Resources for the Caribbean, Central America, Mexico and South America, including economics, government, the sciences and humanities.
http://lanic.utexas.edu

Hispanic Reading Room
Library of Congress. Primary access point for research relating to those parts of the world encompassing the geographical areas of the Caribbean, Latin America, and Iberia; the indigenous cultures of those areas; and peoples throughout the world historically influenced by Luso-Hispanic heritage, including Latinos in the U.S., and peoples of Portuguese or Spanish heritage in Africa, Asia, and Oceania.
http://www.loc.gov/rr/hispanic

Political Database of the Americas
Georgetown University's useful database includes political parties, government branches, electoral data, constitutions, and more.
http://pdba.georgetown.edu

WWW Virtual Library: Latin America
Search engines and Web Directories for country, language, or region-specific searches.
http://www.etown.edu/vl/latamer.html

HLAS Online : Handbook of Latin American Studies
Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1935, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/hlas

Border & Latin American Information
The links in this guide will provide access to many information resources for Latin American studies. Included are some of the best places to find unique and useful information, however, these sites are only starting points. Most academic, government and non-governmental organizations now provide information via the web and no directory or search engine can link to all the potential resources.http://nmsu.libguides.com/border