Skip to main content

Best Websites: Latin American Studies

Arts & Humanities

Music

Hispano Music and Culture of the Northern Rio Grande: The Juan B. Rael Collection
An online presentation of a multi-format ethnographic field collection documenting religious and secular music of Spanish-speaking residents of rural Northern New Mexico and Southern Colorado in 1940. Select audio recordings by word, performer, or title.
https://www.loc.gov/collections/hispano-music-and-culture-from-the-northern-rio-grande/about-this-collection/

Peruvian Music Corner
Provides descriptions and sound files of the Alturas, Titicaca, Poco a Poco, and Susurro melodies.
http://www.musicaperuana.com/english/andinos.htm

Cultures of the Andes
Provides audio files, lyrics in Quechua, and their English and Spanish translations.
http://www.andes.org/songs.html

Bossa Nova Guitar Transcriptions
Provides lyrics and song tablature.
http://www.etc.ch/~jason/tabs.html

Candombe
Provides information on the Afro-Uruguayan music and its performers.
http://www.candombe.com/english.html

Barbados Music: Calypso
Calypso usually involves some social commentary, typically a humorous satire on social and political events, with an infectious beat.
http://barbados.org/music/calypso.htm

Architecture

World Heritage Sites in Brazil
Links to information on places in Brazil designated by Unesco as of special importance for their architecture, archaeology or nature.
http://fp.thesalmons.org/lynn/wh-brazil.html

Art

Con vida
A not-for-profit organization which promotes through the visual arts an understanding of the culture, history and traditions of people of Central and South America, and supports popular art by self-taught artists and artisans through exhibiting their work.
http://www.convida.org

Wagner Bazarin Art Gallery
Established in 1998 to represent leading international contemporary artists, including emerging artists, from all over the world, working in a variety of media. Located in São Paulo, Brazil.
http://www.bazarin.com/wbazarin/Wbazarin_art_links_I.htm

MUVA Virtual Museum of Arts
Devoted to Uruguayan and Latin American art.
http://muva.elpais.com.uy/flash/muva.htm?&lang=en

La Llorona Art Gallery
Specializes in Latin American fine art of all genres.
http://www.lalloronagallery.com

Gallery of West Indian Art
Art gallery featuring Haitian, Jamaican, and other Caribbean artists' paintings.
http://www.galleryofwestindianart.com/li>

Fundación Cisneros - Colección de Patricia Phelps de Cisneros
The Colección de Patricia Phelps de Cisneros is a visual arts program of the Fundación Cisneros. Its mission is to collect, preserve, study, and exhibit the Colección’s extensive artworks and related archives, which consist primarily of modern and contemporary art, with an emphasis on Latin America.
http://www.coleccioncisneros.org

Dance

Buenos Aires Tango
Local Tango guide. Shows, teachers, milongas, photographs, collections, articles. Virtual Tango Museum.
http://www.buenosairestango.com/batingles/homengFRMOD.htm

López, Julio
Choreographer and dancer, shows profile, ballets, ópera and drama realized during his artistic career.
http://www.julio-lopez.com

Literature

Isabel Allende
The author's own site, with biographical and bibliographical information, an album of family photographs, and trivia.
http://www.isabelallende.com

Women in Latin American Literature
A selected list of narrative, poetry, drama and criticism by Latin American women.
http://www-sul.stanford.edu/depts/hasrg/latinam/mujer.html

Latin American Collection at Yale University
Guide to Latin American bibliography, literature, linguistics, journals, and general studies, organized by country.
http://www.library.yale.edu/latinamerica/reference_lit.html

Famous Hispanic writers
A short list of some famous Hispanic writers with their biographies and links to related pages.
http://coloquio.com/famosos/writers.html