All Music Guide
Comprehensive commercial guide to popular music and musicians. Searchable by artist name, album title, song title, music style, and record label. Includes music genre overviews, artist biographies, discographies, reviews, articles, and glossary.
The Aria Database
Designed and maintained by Robert Glaubitz for both singers and fans, this site indexes information on over 1,200 arias from 170 operas, offering some 380 translations, 10,000 aria texts, and 223 MIDI files. Visitors can undertake a quick keyword search from the splash page or proceed to the main page for advanced searches and browsing by alphabetical entry or resource type (translations, MIDI file, operas, etc.). The entries are cross-referenced, and most include links or information on finding recordings and related materials. Also included on the main page are a what's new listing and a respectable collection of briefly annotated links.
Digital Mozart Edition (Mozart Institute) – English Version
Hosted by the International Mozart Foundation based in Mozart's birthplace Salzburg and the California-based Packard Humanities Institute this database contains a wealth of Mozart’s music and other Mozart-related items. Users can search for a specific work using key words and a scroll down menu. They also have the option of printing out individual movements. The site is based on the Neue Mozart Ausgabe, a compilation of Mozart's works and critical commentaries that used to be available solely in paper form and that has been in publication since 1954.
The above link takes you to the search page of the digitial archive. Please remember that searching this page means you are abiding by the terms of the digital archive's licensing agreement on http://dme.mozarteum.at/mambo/index.php.
The Hiphop Archive
This site functions mainly as a repository and purveyor of information by and about the hip hop world. The site is broken down into four main categories--Hiphop University (academia), The Circle Blog (news, music, arts, culture, and politics), Prepare Yourself (an intro to hip hop, going back to the 1970s), and HHA @ Harvard, i.e., the W. E. B. DuBois Institute for African American Research. Every page offers links to further reading/listening or a bibliography, often spiced up with clickable images of colorful book and album covers.
Global Performing Arts Database (GloPAD)
GloPAD is a multilingual product of an international collaboration led by Cornell University and supported by seven other US or Asian universities, three US or Russian museums, and five US or Asian performing arts organizations. This online open-access resource includes images, sound recordings, three-dimensional models, and video clips, among other offerings.
A Guide to Medieval and Renaissance Instruments
Created by a group of musicians at Iowa State University. Highlights 12th to 17th century replica instruments, with pictures and descriptions of instruments including the Hurdy-Gurdy, Dulcian, Recorder, and many more. Includes links to other internet music resources.
National Jukebox - Historical Recordings from the Library of Congress
This Library of Congress music collection includes more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925. Jukebox content will be increased regularly, with additional Victor recordings and acoustically recorded titles made by other Sony-owned U.S. labels, including Columbia, OKeh, and others.
Popular American Music Digital Archive
Includes scanned images of late-19th- and early-20th-century sheet music with the ability to browse song titles and search by title, tempo, key, composer or lyricist, publisher, date, or keyword.
Sibelius Academy: Music Resources
Created by a conservatory in Helsinki. Provides extensive links to jazz, blues, rock, and pop pages. Covers famous composers, gospel, instruments, research, theory, and opera.
Sibley Music Library: Musical Scores
The University of Rochester's Sibley Music Library’s project to digitize its public-domain music scores, emphasizing scores not widely held by other libraries and not digitized elsewhere. All the scores have full cataloging and are accessible to the public through the Sibley Music Library search engine or through a Google search (which takes the user directly to the needed score). The straightforward search engine is based on a single line search but has a useful narrowing function that limits the results by composer, subject, material type, or language. Foreign language titles are not translated, and the search is designed for people who are already familiar with the scores that they need. All content is free.
Temple University Esther Boyer College of Music and Department of Dance
The Links section of this site includes internet resources arranged by the following subjects: Music Education, Music History, Music Industry, Music Performance and Events, Music Technology, Music Theory, Music Therapy, and Other. The web sites maintained at Temple University include Dr. Estrella's Incredibly Abridged Dictionary of Composers, which lists composers alphabetically or according to time period.
Werner Icking Music Archive
Music related information, including "free," printable sheet music (see site for copyright information). Maintained by Christian Mondrup, this site is a continuation of the late Werner Icking's GMD Music Archive.