Skip to main content

Best Websites: Nursing

Quality websites on nursing and healthcare topics

General Health Resources

BioMed Central
BioMed Central provides open access to peer-reviewed journals spanning all areas of biology and medicine. All original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication.
https://www.biomedcentral.com/journals

Center for Disease Control
This highly regarded site provides information on specific health and safety topics, a public health image library, state and national data sets on health and disease, and much more. The A-Z index provides easy access to statistical and other information on specific conditions.
http://www.cdc.gov/

Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
The FDA oversees pharmaceuticals as well as medical devices and their approval. The FDA website provides information on the products that it regulates including food, drugs, medical devices, and cosmetics.
http://www.fda.gov/

Merck Manual Professional Edition
Written for the health care professional, this resource provides information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news, and more.
http://www.merckmanuals.com/professional

National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine: Health and Medicine Division
Formally known as the Institute of Medicine, this site provides access to numerous reports and information on matters of biomedical science, medicine, and health.
https://www.nationalacademies.org/hmd/

National Library of Medicine - National Institutes of Health
This website is a handy gateway to many of the valuable National Library of Medicine databases and resources.
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/

PubMed MEDLINE
A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed MEDLINE is a comprehensive index of biomedical citations dating back to the 1940’s. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/

PubMed Central
PubMed Central is the U.S. National Institutes of Health’s (NIH) digital repository of full-text, peer-reviewed biomedical, behavioral, and clinical research journals. This excellent site provides free and unrestricted access to all materials in the PubMed Central digital collection.
http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov/

Updated 6/21/17