Skip to main content

Best Websites: Nursing

Find high quality websites on nursing and healthcare topics.

Complementary and Alternative

Dietary Supplements Labels Database
This database captures information on dietary supplement labels. Ingredients are linked to other National Library of Medicine databases to allow users to understand the characteristics of ingredients and view the results of research pertaining to them. This database is expected to grow and will eventually include most dietary supplement products sold to American consumers.
http://www.dsld.nlm.nih.gov/dsld/

Quackwatch
Founded by Dr. Stephen Barrett, the primary focus of this site is “quackery” related information that can be difficult to find elsewhere. Quackwatch, Inc. is a nonprofit corporation whose purpose is to combat health-related frauds, myths, fads, fallacies, and misconduct.
http://www.quackwatch.com/

National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)
From the National Institutes of Health, this site contains a wealth of information pertaining to complementary and alternative healing practices. It includes information on research, clinical trials, and a variety of heath topics and treatments.
https://nccih.nih.gov/

Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS)
Through its website, the ODS provides information on dietary supplement use and safety, dietary supplement fact sheets, nutrient recommendations, access to information on dietary supplement ingredients, resources for researchers, and information on funding opportunities.
http://ods.od.nih.gov/

Sloan-Kettering - About Herbs, Botanicals & Other Products
This useful resource contains information on herbs, botanicals, vitamins, and other dietary supplements. Entries typically include a clinical summary, scientific name, purported uses, constituents, mechanism of action, food sources, pharmacokinetics, warnings, adverse reactions, drug or lab interactions, and extensive references.
http://www.mskcc.org/mskcc/html/11570.cfm

Updated 6/21/17