Skip to main content

Best Websites: Nursing

Find high quality websites on nursing and healthcare topics.

Consumer Health and Wellness

Consumer Reports Best Buy Drugs
Consumer Reports Best Buy Drugs is a free, grant-funded public information project from the publishers of Consumer Reports. It provides reports that compare prescription drugs by category and include an expert review of the scientific evidence along with pricing information. These reports are designed to help patients - in consultation with their doctors - find effective, safe and affordable medicines.
http://www.consumerreports.org/cro/health/prescription-drugs/best-buy-drugs/index.htm

FDA Consumer Health Information
This Food and Drug Administration (FDA) site features timely consumer health stories on pressing FDA topics, provides links to its most requested information, includes easy to read publications, and much more. Also, be sure to visit the FDA homepage for in depth information on FDA regulated products, as well as links to numerous sources of information on FDA related activities.
http://www.fda.gov/ForConsumers/

Familydoctor.org
This site is operated by the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP). All information on this site was written and reviewed by physicians and patient education professionals at the AAFP.
http://www.familydoctor.org

Healthfinder
Consumer oriented database of health topics from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
http://www.healthfinder.gov

Hospital Compare
This consumer oriented website provides information on how well hospitals care for their adult patients. It includes patient survey results that rate the quality of care received during recent hospital stays.
https://www.medicare.gov/hospitalcompare/search.html

Household Products Database
This database provides health and safety information on household products. Information in the Household Products Database is taken from a variety of publicly available sources, including brand-specific labels and Material Safety Data Sheets prepared by manufacturers.
http://hpd.nlm.nih.gov/

Lab Tests Online
Lab Tests Online has been designed to help patients and family caregivers better understand the many clinical lab tests that are part of routine care, as well as the diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of conditions and diseases. This site includes test descriptions, a library of conditions and diseases, screening guide, in depth articles, and an index to news articles.
http://www.labtestsonline.org/

Mayo Clinic
Sponsored by the Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research, this site provides practical, well organized consumer health information. It includes information on a variety of diseases and conditions, drugs and supplements, healthy living, and much more.
http://www.mayoclinic.org/patient-care-and-health-information

MedlinePlus
This excellent resource brings together authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health, and other government agencies and health-related organizations. The MedlinePlus website contains consumer oriented information on a variety of health topics. It includes directories to organizations, medical dictionary, medical encyclopedia, and a comprehensive drug database. Also available in Spanish.
https://medlineplus.gov/

Merck Manual Consumer Version
Written in everyday language, this resource provides information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news, and more.
http://www.merckmanuals.com/home

Updated 6/21/17