Skip to main content

Best Websites: Nursing

Find high quality websites on nursing and healthcare topics.

Directories

Health Care Providers

Administrators in Medicine (AIM) DocFinder
AIM DocFinder is a public online directory that provides access to data from state government licensing boards. It includes information on licensing background and disciplinary information on physicians and other health care practitioners.
http://docfinder.docboard.org/docfinder.html

American Hospital Directory
This site provides comparative data for most hospitals. It includes financial data, statistics on medical services provided, and basic directory information. Basic information is provided for free but some information and features are available by subscription only.
http://www.ahd.com/

American Medical Association (AMA) DoctorFinder
AMA DoctorFinder provides professional information about virtually every licensed physician in the United States, including doctors of medicine, and doctors of osteopathy or osteopathic medicine.
https://apps.ama-assn.org/doctorfinder/recaptcha.jsp

Health Organizations

Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO)
The Joint Commission evaluates and accredits health care organizations and programs in the United States. It is the nation’s predominant standards-setting and accrediting body in health care. JCAHO’s Quality Check database provides access to information on health care organizations that meet JCAHO’s patient safety and quality standards.
http://www.qualitycheck.org/consumer/searchQCR.aspx

MedlinePlus: Organizations by Topic
Found on the National Library of Medicine’s MedlinePlus consumer health website, this resource provides a collection of organizations providing health information arranged by topic.
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/organizations/orgbytopic_a.html

Updated 7/26/17