Skip to main content

Best Websites: Nursing

Find high quality websites on nursing and healthcare topics.

Disease Specific Websites

Alzheimer’s Disease

Alzheimer's Association
The Alzheimer’s Association provides information and support to family members, caregivers, and health professionals on Alzheimer’s disease. Its website is updated daily and includes current news articles, access to numerous publications, fact sheets and reports, a visual brain tour, and more.
http://www.alz.org/

Alzforum: Alzheimer Research Forum
Founded in 1996, the Alzheimer Research Forum reports on the latest scientific findings, creates and maintains public databases on research data and reagents, and produces discussion forums to promote debate and the dissemination of new ideas. This site includes research and drug news, information on disease management, access to publications, and more.
http://www.alzforum.org/


Autism

Autism Society
The Autism Society and its chapters provide information and education, support research, and advocate for programs and services for the autism community. Its site includes resources for diagnosis and consultation, treatment, and education for children with autism.
http://www.autism-society.org/

Autism Speaks
This website provides a wide array of resources designed to raise awareness of the causes, prevention, and treatments for autism and autism spectrum disorders. It also provides information for those advocating for the needs of individuals with autism and their families
https://www.autismspeaks.org/


Cancer

The American Cancer Society
Headquartered in Atlanta, Georgia, the American Cancer Society is a community-based voluntary health organization with local offices nationwide. Its website provides numerous resources for health care professionals, cancer patients, and their families.
http://www.cancer.org/

National Cancer Institute
This exceptional website provides comprehensive information on a variety of cancer topics. It includes a directory to multiples types of cancer, information on clinical trials, statistics, and other useful resources.
http://www.cancer.gov/

National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN)
The NCCN is a not-for-profit alliance of twenty of the world’s leading cancer centers working together to develop treatment guidelines for most cancers. Among this site’s resources is an online library of clinical practice guidelines. New users must register to access the guidelines.
http://www.nccn.org/

OncoLink
Created by the cancer specialists at the University of Pennsylvania, this website provides current information on specific types of cancer, updates on cancer treatment, news about research advances, and more.
https://www.oncolink.org/

Oncology Nursing Society - Putting Evidence into Practice (PEP)
A large portion of this site is devoted to the Oncology Nursing Society’s Putting Evidence into Practice (PEP) resources. These can be used to plan individual patient care, patient education, nursing education, quality improvement, and research.
https://www.ons.org/practice-resources/pep


Cardiovascular Disease

American Heart Association
This site provides information on numerous cardiovascular diseases and conditions, resources for caregivers and educators, access to statements and guidelines, and recent news releases.
http://www.americanheart.org/

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI)
The NHLBI site provides information on diseases of the cardiovascular system, lungs, and sleep disorders. It includes resources for the general public, health professionals, and researchers.
http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/index.htm


Diabetes

American Diabetes Association
This website covers a wide array of topics and includes information on nutrition, weight loss and exercise, diabetes prevention, and research. It also provides access to several scientific journals and other professional resources published by the American Diabetes Association.
http://www.diabetes.org/

Joslin Diabetes Center
Founded in 1898, the Joslin Diabetes Center focuses on three critical areas related to diabetes: research, care, and education. Its website includes consumer health resources, as well as information for researchers and health care providers.
http://www.joslin.org/


Gastrointestinal Disorders

American College of Gastroenterology (ACG)
The ACG was founded in 1932 to advance the scientific study and medical practice of diseases of the gastrointestinal (GI) tract. Included among this site’s resources are practice guidelines for practitioners and brochures for patients.
http://www.acg.gi.org/

National Digestive Diseases Information Clearinghouse (NDDIC)
The NDDIC site is a comprehensive resource for digestive disease information. It includes easy-to-read publications and a well organized A-Z list of digestive disease topics and titles.
http://digestive.niddk.nih.gov/


Genetic Disorders

Genetics Home Reference
This excellent site provides clearly written information on the effects of genetic variations on human health. It includes information on the genetics of health conditions, diseases, and syndromes as well as information on related genes and chromosomes. Also included are a “Help Me Understand Genetics” handbook, a glossary of medical and genetic definitions, and useful links to genetics information and organizations.
http://ghr.nlm.nih.gov/

National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI)
The NHGRI’s mission is to understand the structure and function of the human genome and its role in health and disease. Its website serves as a gateway to information on current genetics research and it provides resources for students, educators, patients, health professionals, and researchers.
http://www.genome.gov/

National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD)
This site provides access to an extensive rare disease database with reports on more than 1,200 diseases. Brief reports are provided for free, but users must register to access free full length reports. Also included is a database of organizations, and other resources for patients and medical professionals.
http://www.rarediseases.org/rare-disease-information


HIV / AIDS

AIDSource
Developed by the National Library of Medicine, this comprehensive AIDS information service provides access to the latest information on AIDS research, diagnosis, treatment, control, and prevention.
https://aids.nlm.nih.gov/index.php

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: HIV/AIDS
This site offers national and global perspectives on numerous topics related to HIV/AIDS. It also provides brochures, fact sheets, an FAQ, and access to numerous publications and reports.
http://www.cdc.gov/hiv/default.htm

HIV/AIDS - Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
Noted for quality information on issues related to public health, the Kaiser Family Foundation site provides access to numerous HIV/AIDS resources. Included are reports, fact sheets, and statistics on the global and national HIV/AIDS epidemic. This site also provides a handy “Global HIV/AIDS Timeline” with key HIV-related events and noteworthy activities from 1981 through today.
http://www.kff.org/hivaids/index.cfm

UNAIDS: The Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS
UNAIDS brings together the efforts and resources of ten United Nations organizations to help the world prevent new HIV infections, care for people living with HIV, and mitigate the impact of the epidemic. The UNAIDS site provides information on individual countries and regions, HIV data, and numerous reports and publications on the global AIDS epidemic.
http://www.unaids.org/

Wisconsin AIDS/HIV Program
The Wisconsin AIDS/HIV Program is the lead agency in Wisconsin government responsible for coordinating the state’s public health response to the AIDS/HIV epidemic. This site includes statistics and reports for the state of Wisconsin. It also includes resources for consumers and clinicians.
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/aids-hiv/index.htm


Substance Abuse

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
SAMHSA is the Federal Government's lead agency for improving the quality and availability of substance abuse prevention, addiction treatment, and mental health services in the United States. It provides access to numerous publications, data, information on topics related to substance abuse and mental health, and funding opportunities.
http://www.samhsa.gov/

Updated 7/26/17