Skip to main content

Best Websites: Nursing

Find high quality websites on nursing and healthcare topics.

Drugs and Chemicals

ChemIDplus Lite
Created by the National Library of Medicine, this web-based search system provides the structure, nomenclature, molecular formula, CAS registry number, toxicity, and physical properties for chemical substances.
http://chem.sis.nlm.nih.gov/chemidplus/chemidlite.jsp

Drug Information Portal
Provided by the National Library of Medicine, this site gives quick access to comprehensive information on a large selection of drugs.
http://druginfo.nlm.nih.gov/drugportal/drugportal.jsp

Drugs@FDA
This Food and Drug Administration (FDA) database includes information on approved and tentatively approved prescription, over-the-counter, and discontinued drugs.
http://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cder/drugsatfda/

Environmental Health and Toxicology
This comprehensive toxicology and environmental health portal includes links to databases, bibliographies, tutorials, and other scientific and consumer-oriented resources. The resources available through this site include a Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed), Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB), Carcinogenic Potency Database (CPDB), and much more.
https://sis.nlm.nih.gov/enviro.html

Household Products Database
This database provides health and safety information on numerous household products. Information in the Household Products Database is taken from a variety of publicly available sources, including brand-specific labels and Material Safety Data Sheets prepared by manufacturers.
http://hpd.nlm.nih.gov/

MedlinePlus: Drugs & Supplements
This excellent resource provides thorough, easily understood information on prescription drugs, over-the-counter drugs, and herbs and supplements.
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/druginformation.html

Updated 6/21/17