Skip to main content

Best Websites: Nursing

Find high quality websites on nursing and healthcare topics.

Evidence Based Practice

AHRQ ePSS Electronic Preventive Services Selector
The ePSS is an application designed to help primary care clinicians identify clinical preventive services that are appropriate for their patients. Use the tool to search and browse U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) recommendations on the web or on your PDA or mobile device.
http://epss.ahrq.gov/PDA/index.jsp

BestBETs
BETs (Best Evidence Topics) were developed in the Emergency Department of Manchester Royal Infirmary (United Kingdom) to provide rapid evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions. Visitors can browse the evidence-based summaries by topic, specialty, or anatomy.
http://www.bestbets.org/

Evidence-Based Practice Centers (EPC)
Created by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), this database provides evidence reports on a wide spectrum of clinical and health services topics. Also included are technical reports on methodological topics and other types of evidence synthesis-related reports.
http://www.ahrq.gov/research/findings/evidence-based-reports/index.html

Introduction to Evidence-Based Medicine Tutorial (Duke University Medical Center Library)
Provided by Duke University, this self-paced tutorial offers a basic introduction to the principles of Evidence-Based Medicine.
http://guides.mclibrary.duke.edu/ebmtutorial

Joanna Briggs Institute
The Institute collaborates internationally with over 70 entities across the world to promote and support the synthesis, transfer, and utilization of evidence through identifying feasible, appropriate, meaningful, and effective healthcare practices to assist in the improvement of healthcare outcomes globally.
http://joannabriggs.org/

National Guidelines Clearinghouse
Created by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), this database provides an extensive collection of clinical practice guidelines across the spectrum of health care fields and topics.
http://www.guidelines.gov/

National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE)
From the United Kingdom, the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) provides evidence-based guidance for health, public health, and social care practitioners.
http://www.nice.org.uk/

Nursing LibGuide: Evidence Based Nursing
Created by Alverno librarians, this guide provides access to books, e-books, handouts, and tutorials that will help students understand the concepts of evidence based practice.
http://libguides.alverno.edu/nursing/ebn

Oncology Nursing Society - Putting Evidence into Practice (PEP)
A large portion of this site is devoted to the Oncology Nursing Society’s Putting Evidence into Practice (PEP) resources. These can be used to plan individual patient care, patient education, nursing education, quality improvement, and research.
https://www.ons.org/practice-resources/pep

Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI)
The Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute is a nongovernmental organization focused on investigating the relative effectiveness of various medical treatments. This site provides access to information on funding opportunities, current research projects, and a collection of literature relevant to the PCORI mission.
http://www.pcori.org/

PubMed Clinical Queries
Clinical Queries allows users to limit PubMed searches according to specific clinical research areas. The "Clinical Study Categories" option provides access to citations that correspond to specific types of clinical research scenarios. The "Systematic Reviews" option provides access to citations from articles that are used in the practice of Evidence Based Medicine. Note: Alverno students should use the library's Databases A-Z page to access PubMed and the Alverno library's repository of full text articles.
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/clinical

U.S. Preventive Services Task Force
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force is an independent, volunteer panel of national experts in prevention and evidence-based medicine. The Task Force works to improve health by making and providing access to evidence-based recommendations about clinical preventive services such as screenings, counseling services, and preventive medications.
http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/

Updated 6/22/17