Skip to main content

Best Websites: Nursing

Find high quality websites on nursing and healthcare topics.

Food and Nutrition

Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP)
As an agency of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), CNPP works to improve the health and well-being of Americans by developing and promoting dietary guidance that links scientific research to the nutrition needs of consumers. The site provides access to data, a variety of tools, reports and publications, and other resources.
http://www.cnpp.usda.gov/

Dietary Supplements Labels Database
This databases captures information on dietary supplement labels. Ingredients are linked to other National Library of Medicine databases to allow users to understand the characteristics of ingredients and view the results of research pertaining to them. This database is expected to grow and will eventually include most dietary supplement products sold to American consumers.
https://dsld.nlm.nih.gov/dsld/index.jsp

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
Dedicated to eradicating hunger and achieving food security for all, the FAO website provides statistics, publications, and detailed information for countries worldwide. Among the site’s many resources are county profiles with data relating to hunger, food, and agriculture.
http://www.fao.org/home/en/

Food and Drug Administration – Food
This page provides information on food ingredients & packaging, food safety, labeling & nutrition, and more. It also includes resources for health care professionals and access to FDA documents.
http://www.fda.gov/Food/default.htm

Food and Nutrition Service (FNS)
As an agency of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), FNS is the federal agency responsible for administering the nation’s domestic nutrition assistance programs. Working in partnership with cooperating organizations, FNS increases food security and reduces hunger by providing children and low-income people access to food, a healthy diet, and nutrition education.
http://www.fns.usda.gov/


Nutrition.gov
This site provides access to food and nutrition information from across the federal government. It serves as a gateway to reliable information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety for consumers, educators and health professionals.
http://www.nutrition.gov/

Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS)
Through its website, the ODS provides information on dietary supplement use and safety, dietary supplement fact sheets, nutrient recommendations, access to information on dietary supplement ingredients, resources for researchers, and information on funding opportunities.
http://ods.od.nih.gov/

WIN - The Weight-control Information Network
The Weight-control Information Network provides the general public, health professionals, the media, and Congress with up-to-date, science-based information on weight control, obesity, physical activity, and related nutritional issues.
https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/health-communication-programs/win/Pages/default.aspx

What's in the Food You Eat – Nutrient Profiles
Created by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), this database contains nutrient profiles for foods commonly eaten in the United States. Familiar portion sizes and food codes from the Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies (FNDDS) are included for each food.
http://www.ars.usda.gov/Services/docs.htm?docid=17032

Updated 6/22/17