Skip to main content

Best Websites: Nursing

Find high quality websites on nursing and healthcare topics.

International Health

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Travelers' Health
This site provides timely information on the current distribution of many diseases, recent outbreaks, and recommended vaccinations for travel. You can find information on specific destinations, topics, or groups and settings. This site also provides access to the "Yellow Book" which is published every two years by CDC as a reference for those who advise international travelers of health risks. The Yellow Book is written primarily for health care providers, although others might find it useful.
http://wwwn.cdc.gov/travel/

Demographics and Health Surveys (DHS)
The DHS program collects, analyzes, and disseminates data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition on more than seventy-five developing countries. Its website provides access to data sets, country summaries, reports, and other publications.
http://dhsprogram.com/

Disease Control Priorities
Published for the World Bank, this 9 volume collection of online publications provide evidence on intervention efficacy and program effectiveness for the leading causes of global disease burden. Topics covered include surgery, reproductive health, cancer, mental health, and others.
http://dcp-3.org/disease-control-priorities-third-edition

International Classification of Diseases (ICD)
The ICD is the standard diagnostic tool for epidemiology, health management, and clinical purposes. It is used by physicians, nurses, health information managers and coders, policy-makers, insurers, and others to classify diseases and other health problems recorded on many types of health and vital records. This site provides access to the current version of the ICD-10 online classification system.
http://www.who.int/classifications/icd/en/

MEDICC Review
MEDICC Review is an open access English-language journal that provides information on Cuban medical and public health policy, research, programs, and outcomes.
http://www.medicc.org/mediccreview/

Pan American Health Organization (PAHO)
PAHO is an international public health agency dedicated to improving health and living standards of the countries of the Americas. Its site provides information on a variety of health topics, data and statistics, and access to numerous publications including the respected Health in the Americas.
http://new.paho.org/hq/index.php?lang=en

Population Reference Bureau (PRB)
Funded by private foundations, government agencies, and individual donors, the PRB provides timely and objective information on worldwide population, health, and environmental trends and their implications.
http://www.prb.org/

United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF)
UNICEF is the leading advocate for children’s rights, active in 191 countries through country programs and National Committees. Its website provides information to individual countries and includes statistics on education, health, nutrition, and more.
http://www.unicef.org/index.php

World Health Organization (WHO)
This comprehensive site provides detailed information on many aspects of health care for countries worldwide. It provides information on disease outbreaks, health statistics, traveler’s health, and more. Also includes access to many WHO publications, including the respected World Health Report.
http://www.who.int/en/

Updated 6/22/17