Skip to main content

Best Websites: Nursing

Find high quality websites on nursing and healthcare topics.

Health Policy

AcademyHealth
AcademyHealth is a national organization that promotes interaction across the health research and policy arenas. Its site provides access to publications and reports pertaining to current health care issues.
http://www.academyhealth.org

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
This federal agency conducts and sponsors research on healthcare quality, safety, and cost-effectiveness. It provides access to numerous reports including the National Healthcare Quality & Disparities Reports.
http://www.ahrq.gov/

American Public Health Association (APHA)
The APHA is the oldest and largest organization of public health professionals in the world. Its site provides information on the current topics and issues affecting health policy in the United States.
http://www.apha.org/

The Brookings Institution
The Brookings Institution is a private, nonprofit organization that promotes independent research and policy solutions. Its site provides access to reports and other publications pertaining to health policy.
http://www.brook.edu/

The Commonwealth Fund
The Commonwealth Fund is a private foundation that supports independent research for health care practice and policy. Its website provides access to numerous publications, survey results, data charts, grant information, and more.
http://www.cmwf.org/

Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. The site includes information on House and Senate bills with their text and status, text of the Congressional Record, and committee information.
https://www.congress.gov/

Healthy People 2020
Created by scientists both inside and outside of government, Healthy People 2020 is a comprehensive set of disease prevention and health promotion objectives for the United States. It identifies a wide range of public health priorities and specific, measurable objectives.
http://www.healthypeople.gov

Healthy People 2020 Structured Evidence Queries
The purpose of this site is to make information and evidence-based strategies related to the Healthy People 2020 objectives easier to find. It provides pre-formulated search strategies to published literature in PubMed MEDLINE for the Healthy People 2020 topic areas.
http://phpartners.org/hp2020/index.html

The Heritage Foundation
A conservative think tank, the Heritage Foundation publishes research on domestic and foreign policy issues. Among this site’s resources are numerous reports pertaining to health care.
http://www.heritage.org/

The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation is a non-profit, private operating foundation that focuses on the major health care issues facing our nation. The Kaiser Family Foundation develops and runs its own research and communications programs, often in partnership with outside organizations. This site provides access to many valuable resources pertaining to health policy.
http://www.kff.org/

Hospital Compare
This consumer oriented website provides information on how well hospitals care for their adult patients. It includes patient survey results that rate the quality of care received during recent hospital stays.
http://www.hospitalcompare.hhs.gov

Institute for Research on Poverty (IRP)
The IRP is a center for interdisciplinary research into the causes and consequences of poverty and social inequality in the United States. As one of three Area Poverty Research Centers sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, it has a particular interest in poverty and family welfare in the Midwest. The Institute publishes numerous reports on poverty which are available through its website.
http://www.irp.wisc.edu/

Nursing LibGuide: Health Policy
Created by Alverno librarians, this guide provides access to resources for finding information on legislative proposals and health policy issues. It also includes access to tools for citing government documents.
http://libguides.alverno.edu/nursing/policy

RAND Health
A division of the nonprofit RAND Corporation, RAND Health provides research summaries, publications, and survey data related to current health policy concerns. It includes information on healthcare, public safety, aging, and more.
http://rand.org/health/

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF)
The RWJF provides research grants in health care and works toward the reduction of health disparities. Program evaluations and reports are available for many funded projects.
http://www.rwjf.org/

Trust for America's Health (TFAH)
Trust for America's Health is a non-profit, non-partisan research group that focuses on disease prevention. This website provides numerous statistics and reports on issues relating to health policy and public health in the United States.
http://healthyamericans.org/

United Health Foundation
The mission of the United Health Foundation is to provide information that supports the health and medical decisions made by health professionals, individuals, and community leaders in order to create better health outcomes and healthier communities. Includes access to the respected America's Health Rankings™ reports.
http://www.unitedhealthfoundation.org/

United States Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)
The HRSA is the primary Federal agency for improving access to health care services for people who are uninsured, isolated, or medically vulnerable. Included among this site’s resources is a “data warehouse” with access to statistics, mapping tools, and customizable reports.
http://www.hrsa.gov/

The Urban Institute
An independent nonpartisan organization, the Urban Institute gathers and analyzes data, conducts policy research, and evaluates programs and services related to various issues of national priority.
http://www.urban.org/

Updated 6/22/17