Skip to main content

Best Websites: Nursing

Find high quality websites on nursing and healthcare topics.

Research

Alverno College Institutional Review Board
The Alverno College Institutional Review Board (IRB) is part of Alverno's Human Research Protection Program (HRPP). The IRB holds autonomous decision making authority when reviewing human subject research studies under the jurisdiction of Alverno College. The primary responsibility of the Alverno College IRB is to review proposed and continuing research for the purpose of protecting human subjects who are participants in research.
https://www.alverno.edu/academics/resourcesforeducatorsresearchers/institutionalreviewboard/

ClinicalTrials.gov

ClinicalTrials.gov provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research on human volunteers. This site gives information about a trial's purpose, eligibility, and contact and location information.
http://clinicaltrials.gov/ct/gui

Google Scholar
A subset of Google, Google Scholar provides access to scholarly article citations from a wide range of subject areas, with the strongest coverage in science & technology. Among Google Scholar’s resources is a citation index. This handy research tool allows users to easily establish which documents cite a particular journal article or book. It is also useful for verifying citations and locating similar documents. To access the citation index, look for the “cited by” link. Alverno students - use Alverno's Google Scholar portal to access full text documents available through the library's subscription databases.
http://scholar.google.com/

Grants.gov
Grants.gov is the premier source for finding information on federal government grants and is the central storehouse for all discretionary grants offered by the 26 federal grant-making agencies. The site includes tools and documents that will help new users understand the application process.
http://www.grants.gov/

National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)
Originally established in 1986 as the National Center for Nursing Research, the NINR supports and conducts clinical and basic research and research training on health and illness across the lifespan. The Institute's research focus encompasses health promotion and disease prevention, quality of life, health disparities, and end-of-life.
https://www.ninr.nih.gov/

Responsible Conduct of Research
Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), this site provides access to information on legislation and regulations that affect the conduct of research with human participants. Also included are resources that provide guidance on various human research protection issues and access to seminal documents in bioethics. This site also provides information on nonhuman animal research.
http://www.apa.org/research/responsible/index.aspx

Updated 6/22/17