Skip to main content

Best Websites: Nursing

Find high quality websites on nursing and healthcare topics.

Senior Health

AgingStats.Gov
This site provides statistical data on the aging population collected by 15 major U.S. government agencies. It includes access to the "Older Americans: Key Indicators of Well-Being" report which has current data on older Americans and their families.
https://agingstats.gov/

Alzheimer’s Association
The Alzheimer’s Association provides information and support to family members, caregivers, and health professionals on Alzheimer’s disease. Its website is updated frequently and includes current news articles, access to a variety of publications, an interactive brain tour, advocacy resources, and more.
http://www.alz.org/

Medicare.gov
The official U.S. government site for people with Medicare provides access to the latest information on Medicare enrollment and benefits. It includes useful tools that allow users to compare hospitals, home health agencies, and nursing homes using defined criteria and quality of care measures. This site also allows users to find and compare Medicare health plans, Medigap policies, and Medicare prescription drug plans.
http://www.medicare.gov/

The Merck Manual of Geriatrics
This respected text features a unique interdisciplinary approach that specifically addresses the challenges facing geriatric care. It includes information on evaluation of the elderly patient, drug-related problems, provision of care, social issues, and more.
http://www.merck.com/mrkshared/mmg/home.jsp

National Institute on Aging (NIA)
The National Institute of Aging provides leadership in aging research, training, health information dissemination, and other programs relevant to aging and older people. It is the primary Federal agency on Alzheimer’s disease research. Among the site’s resources are numerous NIA publications that are available to order or as free downloads.
http://www.nia.nih.gov/

Wisconsin Nursing Homes
Produced by the Wisconsin Department of Health Services, this site provides access to information on nursing homes, as well as facilities serving people with developmental disabilities in Wisconsin.
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/guide/cir.htm

Updated 6/22/17