Skip to main content

Best Websites: Nursing

Find high quality websites on nursing and healthcare topics.

Transcultural Health

American Indian Health
This portal to issues affecting the health and well-being of American Indians provides access to information on important heath issues, tribal information, traditional healing, health statistics, and more.
https://americanindianhealth.nlm.nih.gov/index.html

Cultural Orientation Resource Center
The Cultural Orientation Resource Center provides informational and resource materials for refugees, service providers, and anyone interested in learning more about refugee communities in the United States.
http://www.cal.org/co/

Culture Clues™
Created by the University of Washington Medical Center, Culture Clues are short tip sheets designed to increase awareness about concepts and preferences of patients from diverse cultures. This site includes end-of-life care guidelines for certain cultures.
http://depts.washington.edu/pfes/CultureClues.htm

EthnoMed
Created by the University of Washington Harborview Medical Center, this site contains information about cultural beliefs, medical issues, and other related issues pertinent to the health care of recent immigrants and refugees.
http://ethnomed.org/

Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Cultural Competence
This site provides numerous resources that will enable healthcare providers to work effectively in cross-cultural situations. Topics include: race/ethnicity, gender, special populations, age, and research and education.
http://www.hrsa.gov/culturalcompetence/

Hesperian Health Guides
Used by health care providers across the globe, Hesperian health guides provide access to a wide variety of health publications which can be accessed online and downloaded for free. The guides are available in over 80 languages including English, Spanish, Korean, and Chinese.
http://hesperian.org/books-and-resources/language-list/

Indian Health Services (IHS)
This site contains information on Indian Health Service programs and the health status of American Indians and Alaska Natives receiving health care from IHS providers.
http://www.ihs.gov/

MEDICC Review
MEDICC Review is an open access English-language journal that provides information on Cuban medical and public health policy, research, programs, and outcomes.
http://www.medicc.org/mediccreview/

Nursing LibGuide: Transcultural Nursing
Created by Alverno librarians, this guide provides access to books, e-books, handouts, and other resources that will help students understand the concepts of transcultural health care.
http://libguides.alverno.edu/nursing/transcultural

Office of Minority Health (OMH)
The OMH serves as a free information and referral service on minority health issues for community groups, consumers, professionals, and students.
http://www.minorityhealth.hhs.gov/

Pew Hispanic Center
Founded in 2001, the Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the nation. It conducts and commissions studies and regularly conducts public opinion surveys on a range of social matters and public policy issues. The site includes access to publications, interactive maps, demographic profiles, state and county databases, and more.
http://pewhispanic.org/

Physicians for Human Rights (PHR)
This site offers access to information on investigations of human rights abuses, including racial and ethnic disparities in medical care. It includes numerous reports that focus on international and national issues.
http://www.physiciansforhumanrights.org/

Updated 6/22/17