Skip to main content

Best Websites: Religion

General Religion Links

Archdiocese of Milwaukee
Searchable site with links to information about local bishops, schools, parishes, vocations, and the Catholic faith. Offers news, upcoming events, daily readings, and daily prayers.
http://www.archmil.org/

Electronic New Testament Educational Resources
A Catholic-Resources site, with excellent links to modern biblical scholarship, explanations of rituals and teachings.
http://catholic-resources.org/Bible/

Exploring Religions
Developed by the faculty at the University of Wyoming, this site offers information about the ideas, practices, and history of five major world religions: Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, and Judaism. Headings include Cosmos, Organization, Time and Worship, Text and Tales, Timeline, Religious Life, Glossary, Terms, Maps, Links, and Life Stages.
http://www.uwyo.edu/religionet/er/

ICLNet
Internet Christian Library, developed by the Institute for Christian leadership offers a multitude of Christian missions, resources, literature, organizations, documents, and more available on the internet.
http://www.iclnet.org

Jewish Student Online Research Center
Information on Jewish history, Israel, US-Israel relations, the Holocaust, anti-Semitism, Judaism, and more. Comprehensive bibliography and glossary of Hebrew and historical terms and persons.
http://www.us-israel.org/jsource/

Judaism 101
Judaism 101 is an online encyclopedia of Judaism, covering Jewish beliefs, people, places, things, language, scripture, holidays, practices and customs.
http://www.jewfaq.org/index.htm

Ontario Consultants on Religious Tolerance
Offers information on dozens of faith groups, from Asatru to Christianity to Wicca to Zoroastrianism; other belief systems such as agnosticism, atheism, and humanism; and new religious movements, including cults. Discusses controversial topics from multiple points of view and covers negative as well as positive aspects of religion.
http://www.religioustolerance.org/

The Orion Center for the Study of Dead Sea Scrolls and Associated Literature
From Hebrew University, this searchable site offers information on research and educational projects regarding the Dead Sea Scrolls. Includes a bibliography on the Scrolls, news articles, links, and photographs of the Scrolls.
http://orion.mscc.huji.ac.il/

Psychology of Religion Page
Maintained by a professor at Georgia Southern University, this searchable web site offers resources about the psychological aspects of religious belief and behavior. Includes General Information and Essays, New Religious Movements, and Science and Religion. Extensive set of links to other Psychology and Religion sites.
http://www.psywww.com/psyrelig/

Virtual Religion Index
Award winning meta site from Rutgers University. Comprehensive compilation of annotated links to quality sites on multiple aspects of religion and religious studies. Analyzes and highlights important content, providing links to homepages as well as important content within.
http://virtualreligion.net/vri/