Skip to main content

Best Websites: Sociology

Geography

CIA World Fact Book
Maps, country flags, and background material on the geography, people, government, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for countries around the globe. Sections include Country Listings, Reference Maps, Notes and Definitions, and Appendixes.
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/

Map Collections: 1544-1999
Library of Congress site offering many old and new maps, including military, environmental, immigration, transportation, cities, and towns. Search by keyword or browse the indexes. It's possible to zoom in and out, adjusting the map sizes.
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/gmdhtml/

Map History / History of Cartography: THE Gateway to the Subject
Use this site to find information about old maps, both on the web and in the real world. The site's 100 'pages' offer comment and guidance, and 4,500 annotated links - selected for relevance and quality.
http://www.maphistory.info/

Map Machine
National Geographic Society's electronic maps web site acts as a historical and cultural atlas with Dynamic Maps and Flags and Facts for over 190 independent nations, plus U.S. states and Canadian provinces. There are also maps related to current news stories and links to more map sites.
http://maps.nationalgeographic.com/maps/map-machine.html

National Map Small Scale
The National Atlas is the product of the U.S. Geological Service’s coordination of geographically oriented data from more than 20 federal agencies. It portrays a wide range of culture and physical phenomena, including information on health, the environment, demography, agriculture, climate and geology. Of special note is the custom mapping tool, MapMaker, which allows users to create custom maps of any area in the U.S. at any scale.
http://nationalmap.gov/small_scale/

Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
A collection of high resolution map scans covering a variety of topics and geographical areas. Especially useful for maps of current topics in the news. Contains numerous links to other map collection sites. An excellent place to start exploring.
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/index.html

Welcome to Flags of the World
Read more than 14,100 pages about flags and view more than 25,200 images of flags. Searchable by keywords. The Flag Detective gives help identifying flags. Includes a bibliography of flag books and links to other flag sites.
http://www.crwflags.com/fotw/flags/