Skip to main content

Best Websites: Sociology

Sociology

Child Trends
Child Trends, a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization under the National Institute of Health and Human Development (which collects and disseminates research relevant to child issues), offers a thematically organized Web site that covers a wide scope of childhood issues particularly interesting to researchers and policy makers.
http://www.childtrends.org

Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (SEDAC): Poverty Mapping
This site hosts the Global Poverty Mapping Project, which "seeks to enhance current understanding of the global distribution of poverty and the geographic and biophysical conditions of where the poor live." Provides data in a variety of ways that will appeal to an array of learners and researchers interested in obtaining and using information about poverty, food security, and inequality.
http://sedac.ciesin.columbia.edu/data/collection/povmap

Guttmacher Institute
A nonprofit organization focused on sexual and reproductive health research, policy analysis and public education.
http://www.guttmacher.org/

Institute for Women's Policy Research
Contains information relating to the institute’s own research and public policy work in a wide range of social and economic areas. Various publications (fact sheets, news stories, reports, briefs, tools, conference proceedings) can be viewed and printed (PDF format) free or ordered as hard copies at reasonable prices. Features a “Status of Women in the States” report series (including Wisconsin).
http://www.iwpr.org/

ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives
This site contains historical material documenting the experience of gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgendered people. It contains over two million individual pieces, including more than 16,000 books, 3,600+ titled collections of archived periodicals, 100,000 photographs, 2,300 linear feet of subject files, and thousands of audio/visual materials, posters, paintings, protest signs, buttons, and other memorabilia and realia of all sorts.
http://www.onearchives.org/

A Sociological Tour Through Cyberspace
This creative Trinity College web site provides numerous links to sociological web resources, as well as an interactive version of the game Sociology Jeopardy.
http://www.trinity.edu/~mkearl/index.html

SocioWeb
Enter in a search or browse this gateway site by category.
http://www.socioweb.com

Transparency International
This web site provides resources to understand and combat corruption. It describes itself as a politically nonpartisan organization. The site defines corruption as “the abuse of entrusted power for private gain.” Most of the articles found in this collection are timely and available without charge. A good starting point to begin exploring this global issue.
http://www.transparency.org/

Urban Institute
This site provides analysis of policies and programs related to social, civic, and economic issues. It publishes reports that cover a variety of urban topics in both the United States and abroad.
http://www.urban.org/

Violence Against Women
Violence Against Women (VAW), a section of the National Women’s Health Information Center, provides information on a variety of violence issues facing society from domestic or interpersonal violence against women to bullying children and elder abuse. The site is easy to navigate. It includes data on violent acts against women and is a resource for information and help in dealing with personal violence.
http://www.womenshealth.gov/violence-against-women/

Youth at the United Nations
Deals with a wide variety of global youth issues and provides access to a library of UN documents related to youth.
https://www.un.org/development/desa/youth/