Skip to main content

Going Beyond Google: Discipline Specific Databases

What is a discipline specific database?

Databases are collections of credible materials based on a topic or theme. As you begin your advanced study in your major you'll want to consult the appropriate databases for your discipline.

These databases contain scholarly journal articles, book reviews and editorials by area specialists.

Visit our Databases by Subject page to get started.

Library Information

Need more help?

-Stop in for 1-on-1 help. Hours & Location.
-Send us an email.
-Call the research help desk at (414) 382-6062.
-Library Home Page.
-Library Staff Directory.

How to find the databases

From the library web page, click the Databases by Subject link.

Click on one of the discipline databases.

Accessing Databases from Home

Use your Alverno network login to access the library's resources from off campus. This is the same username you use to check your email or log into Moodle.

If you need to reset your password, use the password reset link on the tech services page. Remember that this will change your password across all of your Alverno accounts - email, Moodle, etc.

Tips for using the databases

Narrow your topic or research question

Databases contain large amounts of information, so it's important to search efficiently so you have more time to read, analyze and create your end product. Try breaking down topics and ideas into more manageable sub-pieces and develop a research question you want to answer.

 

Brainstorm keywords for your searches

Try creating a word bank of synonyms you can use when searching. If you have phrases put quotes around them to improve the relevance of your search results.

 

If you can't immediately get the full text of the article don't give up. Submit an interlibrary loan request.

Sometimes databases only provide you with information about an article and don't include a full text PDF. You can still get the article by submitting an interlibrary loan request. This service is free and you can submit as many requests as you need.