Skip to main content

Best Websites: Environment

General Resources

Wisconsin

Great Lakes Commission
The Great Lakes Commission is a binational public agency dedicated to the use, management, and protection of the water, land, and other natural resources of the Great Lakes-St. Lawrence system. Among this site's resources are numerous publications and useful links related to the system's resource management.
http://www.glc.org/

Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission
This site provides basic information and planning services for the Southeastern Wisconsin Region. It includes information on local environmental, transportation, and land use topics.
http://www.sewrpc.org/

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources (DNR)
The DNR’s website provides information and free publications on a wide variety of topics related to the management of Wisconsin’s natural resources.
http://dnr.wi.gov/


National

Encyclopedia of Earth
Encyclopedia of Earth is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. This site provides a free, fully searchable collection of articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and experts who collaborate and review each other's work.
http://www.eoearth.org/

Envirofacts Data Warehouse
This site provides access to several Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) databases and allows you to access information on environmental activities that may affect air, water, and land anywhere in the United States. Use Envirofacts to retrieve data or generate maps of environmental information by choosing from mapping applications available through this site.
http://www3.epa.gov/enviro/

Environmental Working Group
This watchdog organization focuses on the intersection of the environment and human health and provides research and investigation results for issues such as energy, farming, toxins, and water.
http://www.ewg.org/

National Audubon Society
This site provides a wealth of information on birds of North America, as well as other topics related to conservation and natural ecosystems. It also includes access to Audubon magazine and a visually stunning digitized copy of John James Audubon’s 1840 edition of Birds of America.
http://www.audubon.org/

National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
NOAA supplies information that pertains to the state of the oceans and the atmosphere. NOAA is a trusted source of accurate and objective scientific information in four particular areas of national and global importance: Ecosystems, Climate, Weather & Water, and Commerce & Transportation.
http://www.noaa.gov/index.html

NatureServe
Created by the Association of Biodiversity Information, this site provides access to information on more than 70,000 plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States, Canada, and Latin America. Entries for organisms provide common name, scientific name, taxonomic hierarchy, distribution, conservation status, ecology and life history information, references, and more. NatureServe includes particularly in-depth coverage for rare and endangered species.
http://www.natureserve.org/

Science.gov
Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative government science information and research results. It includes access to information on topics such as biology and nature, energy, earth and ocean sciences, environment, natural resources, and much more.
http://science.gov/

United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
This site provides access to an abundance of information on topics pertaining to the environment and its impact on human health. Topics covered include: air pollution, climate change, hazardous waste, pesticides, and water resources.
https://www.epa.gov/

United States Fish and Wildlife Service
The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service site provides access to policies, laws, regulations, procedures, planning efforts, scientific research, and educational activities related to the conservation of fish, wildlife, plants, and habitats. Among the site’s resources are information on endangered species, numerous handouts and publications, and an image library.
http://www.fws.gov/

United States Geological Survey (USGS)
As the nation's largest water, earth, and biological science and civilian mapping agency, the U.S. Geological Survey collects, monitors, analyzes, and provides scientific understanding about natural resource conditions, issues, and problems. The USGS website provides access to maps, publications, images, and data on a variety of topics.
http://www.usgs.gov/


International

United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
UNEP is the voice for the environment in the United Nations system. Its mission is "to provide leadership and encourage partnership in caring for the environment by inspiring, informing, and enabling nations and peoples to improve their quality of life without compromising that of future generations." Among this site’s resources are links to numerous maps, publications, and reports.
http://www.unep.org/

World Health Organization - Quantifying Environmental Health Impacts
This site provides materials and information related to the World Health Organization’s efforts to quantify environmental health impacts. Included among this site's resources are country profiles of the environmental burden of disease, world maps for a variety of environmental risk factors, access to publications, and much more.
http://www.who.int/quantifying_ehimpacts/en/

Updated 7/26/17