Skip to main content

Best Websites: Environment

Animals

AmphibiaWeb
This site offers access to taxonomic information for amphibians of the world. Species accounts are added regularly and provide species descriptions, life history information, conservation status, literature references, photos, and range maps for many species.
http://amphibiaweb.org/

Animal Diversity Web
From the University of Michigan, this online database provides information on animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology. It includes species accounts for individual animal species and descriptions of taxa above the species level. The numerous species accounts are written by students and edited and reviewed by instructors and professional staff at the University of Michigan.
http://animaldiversity.org/

BirdLife International
BirdLife International is a global partnership of conservation organizations that strives to conserve birds, their habitats, and global biodiversity. According to its website, BirdLife provides information on all birds of the world. It allows users to search for information on a particular species or sets of species by specifying a number of different search criteria. The search feature allows users to find information on endangered or threatened bird species according to geographic location.
http://www.birdlife.org/

Butterflies and Moths of North America
Butterflies and Moths of North America is a searchable database of verified butterfly and moth records for the continent of North America from Panama to Canada. This site includes dynamic distribution maps, photographs, species accounts, and regional species checklists – including checklists for each county in the United States.
http://www.butterfliesandmoths.org/

FishBase
Developed at the WorldFish Center, in conjunction with the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, FishBase is an extremely comprehensive and widely consulted database on the world's fish species. It is a database with information that caters to different professionals such as research scientists, fisheries managers, zoologists, and more. FishBase on the web contains practically all fish species known to science.
http://www.fishbase.org/home.htm

IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
Provided by the World Conservation Union, the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species provides taxonomic, conservation status, and distribution information on animals and plants that have been globally evaluated using the IUCN Red List Categories and Criteria. The main purpose of the IUCN Red List is to catalogue and highlight those taxa that are facing a higher risk of global extinction.
http://www.iucnredlist.org/

National Wildlife Health Center (NWHC)
Located in Madison, Wisconsin and maintained by the United States Geological Survey, the NWHC disseminates information to "promote science-based decisions affecting wildlife and ecosystem health”. Its website provides information, technical assistance, research, education, and leadership on national and international wildlife health issues.
http://www.nwhc.usgs.gov/

NatureServe
Created by the Association of Biodiversity Information, this site provides access to information on more than 70,000 plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States, Canada, and Latin America. Entries for organisms provide common name, scientific name, taxonomic hierarchy, distribution, conservation status, ecology and life history information, references, and more. NatureServe includes particularly in-depth coverage for rare and endangered species.
http://www.natureserve.org/

North American Mammals
The Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of Natural History developed this website to serve as a resource for students, teachers, and the general public interested in the biology and identification of mammals in North America. It includes detailed descriptions, images, and distribution ranges for mammals native to the North American continent.
http://naturalhistory.si.edu/mna/

Primate Info Net
Maintained by the National Primate Research Center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, this site combines original content with links to outside sources and provides comprehensive information on a variety of primate species from across the globe.
http://pin.primate.wisc.edu/index.html

Tree of Life
The Tree of Life Web Project is a collaborative effort of biologists from around the world. The site provides pictures, text, and other information for organisms, living or extinct. Pages also contain hierarchical information in the form of an evolutionary tree of life.
http://www.tolweb.org/tree/

United States Fish and Wildlife Service
The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service site provides access to policies, laws, regulations, procedures, planning efforts, scientific research, and educational activities related to the conservation of fish, wildlife, plants, and habitats. Among the site’s resources are information on endangered species, numerous handouts and publications, and an image library.
http://www.fws.gov/

Updated 6/22/17