Skip to main content

Best Websites: Environment

Environmental Health

Environmental Health and Toxicology
This comprehensive toxicology and environmental health portal includes links to databases, bibliographies, tutorials, and other scientific and consumer-oriented resources. The resources available through this site include a Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed), Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB), Carcinogenic Potency Database (CPDB), and much more.
https://sis.nlm.nih.gov/enviro.html

Environmental Health News
Published by the not-for-profit Environmental Health Sciences, the organizers of this site search a worldwide database of newspapers and magazines in order to provide a comprehensive collection of current information on environmental events that could affect human health.
http://www.environmentalhealthnews.org/

GreenFacts
GreenFacts is an independent non-profit organization whose mission is to bring complex scientific reports on health and the environment within the reach of non-specialists. The site provides access to a unique collection GreenFacts Digests which are peer-reviewed summaries of authoritative scientific consensus reports on environmental or health topics.
http://www.greenfacts.org/en/index.htm

National Center for Environmental Health (NCEH)
Provided by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the NCEH site contains numerous links that provide environmental health information and data. Topics covered include air pollution and respiratory health, asthma, lead poisoning prevention, and much more.
http://www.cdc.gov/nceh/

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)
The mission of the NIEHS is to reduce the burden of human illness and disability by understanding how the environment influences the development and progression of human disease. Among this site’s features are access to publications, fact sheets, and pamphlets of a variety of environmental health topics.
http://www.niehs.nih.gov/

World Health Organization - Quantifying Environmental Health Impacts
This site provides materials and information related to the World Health Organization’s efforts to quantify environmental health impacts. It provides information on the environmental burden of disease, world maps for a variety of environmental risk factors, and access to publications.
http://www.who.int/quantifying_ehimpacts/en/

Updated 6/22/17