Skip to main content

Best Websites: Environment

Toxic Substances

Environmental Health and Toxicology
This comprehensive toxicology and environmental health portal includes links to databases, bibliographies, tutorials, and other scientific and consumer-oriented resources. The resources available through this site include a Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed), Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB), Carcinogenic Potency Database (CPDB), and much more.
https://sis.nlm.nih.gov/enviro.html

Environmental Protection Agency – Pesticides
The EPA site provides information on a variety of topics related to pesticides. This page includes links to numerous pesticide fact sheets, as well as access to information on health and safety, environmental effects, regulating pesticides, and more.
https://www.epa.gov/pesticides

Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB)
HSDB is a toxicology data file that focuses on the toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals. It is enhanced with information on human health effects, animal toxicity studies, chemical properties, metabolism/pharmacokinetics, chemical safety and handling, and more. All data are referenced and derived from a core set of books, government documents, technical reports, and selected primary journal literature.
http://toxnet.nlm.nih.gov/cgi-bin/sis/htmlgen?HSDB

Household Products Database
This database provides health and safety information on numerous household products. Information in the Household Products Database is taken from a variety of publicly available sources, including brand-specific labels and Material Safety Data Sheets prepared by manufacturers.
http://hpd.nlm.nih.gov/

National Pesticide Information Center (NPIC)
The NPIC was created through a cooperative agreement between Oregon State University and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. Its site provides objective, science-based information on pesticide-related topics and includes numerous factsheets and links to useful resources.
http://npic.orst.edu/

Toxic Substances Portal
Provided by the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR), this site provides toxicological profiles for hazardous substances found at National Priorities List (NPL) sites. (NPL is the list of hazardous waste sites eligible for long-term federally funded remedial action). These hazardous substances are ranked based on frequency of occurrence at NPL sites, toxicity, and potential for human exposure.
http://www.atsdr.cdc.gov/toxprofiles/index.asp

TOXMAP
Provided by the National Library of Medicine, TOXMAP is a Global Information System (GIS) that uses maps of the United States to help users visually explore data from the EPA's Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) and Superfund Programs. It is designed for nontechnical people interested in learning about air and water pollutants in their area.
http://toxmap.nlm.nih.gov/toxmap/main/index.jsp

Tox Town
Tox Town uses color, graphics, sounds, and animation to add interest to learning about connections between chemicals, the environment, and the public's health. It is designed to give information on everyday locations where one might find toxic chemicals. This site is a companion to the extensive information in TOXNET, the National Library of Medicine’s collection of databases that are typically used by toxicologists and health professionals.
http://toxtown.nlm.nih.gov/

Toxics Release Inventory (TRI)
Provided by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the Toxic Release Inventory tracks the management of certain toxic chemicals that may pose a threat to human health and the environment. There are currently over 650 chemicals covered by the TRI Program. Facilities that manufacture, process, or otherwise use these chemicals in amounts above established levels must submit annual TRI reports on each chemical. The TRI chemical list doesn't include all toxic chemicals used in the United States.
http://www.epa.gov/toxics-release-inventory-tri-program

Updated 6/22/17