Skip to main content

Best Websites: Environment

Water

Environmental Protection Agency – Water
The EPA site provides information on a variety of topics related to water. This page provides access to information on aquatic ecosystems, drinking water, ground water, water pollution, and more.
http://water.epa.gov/

International Water Law Project
The International Water Law Project is an information resource for international water law and policy materials. The site includes the text of multilateral treaties, cases, soft law sources, an extensive bibliography, and links to related websites.
http://www.internationalwaterlaw.org/index.html

UN-Water
This comprehensive website consolidates and supplements information from all the United Nations (UN) agencies and programs, as well as major non-UN partners concerned with freshwater and sanitation. UN-Water provides access to publications and reports with information on the status and trends in freshwater at the global and regional levels.
http://www.unwater.org

Water Quality Information Center (WQIC)
The WQIC provides electronic access to information on water quality and agriculture. The center collects, organizes, and communicates the scientific findings, educational methodologies, and public policy issues related to water quality and agriculture.
http://wqic.nal.usda.gov/

Water and Land Resources Management - University of Wisconsin Extension
Created by the UW-Extension Environmental Resources Center, this site provides access to numerous publications and educational materials that cover important aspects of water resources education.
http://clean-water.uwex.edu/pubs/#wl

Wisconsin Water Library (University of Wisconsin – Madison)
Established in 1964 by the UW Water Resources Institute, the Water Resources Library has a collection of almost 30,000 volumes of water-related information. Through its website, any resident of Wisconsin can check out the library's materials, which are sent free of charge to the user's local public library for pick up and return. The site also serves as a gateway to numerous online resources.
http://aqua.wisc.edu/waterlibrary/

Updated 6/23/17