Skip to main content

FSS125 - First Semester Seminar: Fall 2019

Library Tools

TOPCAT


What is TOPCAT?

TOPCAT is our library catalog. You can search here for books, magazines, course reserves, DVDs, textbooks, and other items that we hold in our physical collection (i.e. things you can come pull off the shelf and check out). We also have some of our e-content in TOPCAT, but not all.

TIPS:

  • Keep your searches broad and simple to start. Try 1 or 2 keywords at first.
  • Use the limiters on the left to narrow your results.
  • You'll see other schools listed in your results. They're part of our library consortium, which means we all share materials. If you find something from another school that you want, you can request it and pick it up from our library once it arrives at Alverno.

Ebooks


What is Ebook Central?

This is our main ebook vendor and you'll find over 140,000 ebooks across all different disciplines here. You can download ebooks or view them online, and they're all keyword searchable. Ebook Central is user friendly and easy to navigate. 

TIPS:

  • We recommend you read online rather than download your ebook. If you like to take notes or highlight books as you read, reading them online and saving them to your virtual bookshelf ensures you won't lose your notes when your checkout period expires.
  • You'll need to set up a user login to download ebooks or save them to your virtual bookshelf, but it's free and easy to do.
  • Contact a librarian if you have trouble setting up your ebook account.

Search Opposing Viewpoints

opposing viewpoints

 

What is Opposing Viewpoints?

Ever been in class, talking to friends, or scrolling through the news and come across a heated debate on a topic that you don't know that much about? Opposing Viewpoints is a great place to start. It takes controversial topics and highlights the main points, then pulls relevant articles, statistics, news, and more that work as good examples of both sides of the argument.

Tips:

  • This is a great place to get a feel for the main sides of a controversial topic, but sometimes the information is a little dated. For some topics, an article that's 5 years old won't make a difference. For other topics where cutting edge information is crucial, 5 years is ancient history. Consider your topic and check for currency when using Opposing Viewpoints.
  • Most current information will have a "NEW!" or "UPDATED!" tag on the topic link.

Search Google Scholar

google scholar logo
 

Why use Google Scholar?

Google Scholar takes some of the guesswork out of your research. Instead of wondering if the article you're reading is scholarly or comes from a reputable source, Google Scholar makes sure of it. You still have to do some legwork, but the quality of the information you have to work with is much higher. This is a great place to start academic research when your instructor says you need to find scholarly articles.

Tips:

  • If you're not sure where to start, keep your searches broad at first. Slowly add additional keywords (or swap them out) when you get an idea of how you want to specify your question.
  • Do you have an article citation and want to know if we have the full text? Plug the article title in and, if we do, chances are good you'll see a [PDF], [HTML], or "Full Text @ Alverno" link appear to the right of the search results.
  • Always use the link on the library homepage (or on this guide) to get to Google Scholar, this will give you better results as it's synced with our databases.
Loading ...

FSS Classes

Use the tabs to find resources for your class.

American Girls' Daily Lives

Your library liaison is: Sara Shutkin
Sara Shutkin

Sara Shutkin

Email Me

Contact:
Alverno College Library/Archives
Office CO B8
(414)382-6202


Use this handout to determine if an article is considered scholarly: Is it a scholarly article or isn’t it?


To find more information and scholarly articles about "American Girls' Daily Lives," do searches on Google Scholar, Academic Search Premier, Gender Watch, or Opposing Viewpoints,.  You can access these databases via the Databases A ot Z list.
Here is a link to it: https://www.alverno.edu/library/databasesatoz.php

To get started finding information, try some of these topics in your search. There are many more; a librarian can help you.

  • Adolescent Girls
  • Aggression of Girls
  • Bullying AND Girls
  • Cyberbullying AND Girls
  • Discrimination in Employment
  • Education of Women
  • Girls  AND Diet
  • Girls AND Feminism
  • Girls AND Obesity
  • Girls AND Social Justice
  • Girls AND Social Media
  • Girls AND Technology
  • Girls in Technology
  • Girls--Nutrition
  • Income Gap
  • Interpersonal Relations
  • Marital Quality
  • Married Women
  • Obesity in Adolescence
  • Overweight Children
  • Peer pressure AND Girls
  • Teenage Girls
  • Victims of Bullying
  • Women's Employment
  • Women's Wages
 

Learn about the lives of girls in Wisconsin; view The Alverno Report: The Status of Girls in Wisconsin 2018-19
https://www.alverno.edu/research/status_of_girls.php


Use Credo Reference for credible sources and background research.

Credo Reference

BRAIN: Using Your Brain to Evaluate Information (from Shasta College)
http://libguides.shastacollege.edu/brain

Mindfulness Strategies

Your library liaison is: Sara Shutkin

Sara Shutkin

Sara Shutkin

Email Me

Contact:
Alverno College Library/Archives
Office CO B8
(414)382-6202


Use this handout to determine if an article is considered scholarly: Is it a scholarly article or isn’t it?


To find more information and scholarly articles about "Mindfulness Strategies," do searches on Google Scholar, Opposing Viewpoints, or Academic Search Premier.  You can access these databases via the Databases A ot Z list.
Here is a link to it: https://www.alverno.edu/library/databasesatoz.php

To get started finding information, try some of these topics in your search. There are many more; a librarian can help you.

  • Mindfulness
  • Mindfulness based Stress Reduction
  • Mindfulness Training
  • Mindfulness (Psychology)
  • Meditation
  • Meditation AND Psychology
  • Awareness
  • Well-being
  • Self-kindness
  • Stress Management
  • Spirituality
  • Stress (Psychology)--Prevention
  • Attention
  • Mindfulness AND Food Habits
  • Mindfulness AND Education
  • Mindfulness AND Health
  • Mindfulness AND Workplace
  • Mindfulness AND Addiction Recovery
  • Being Present

Use Credo Reference for credible sources and background research.

Credo Reference

BRAIN: Using Your Brain to Evaluate Information (from Shasta College)
http://libguides.shastacollege.edu/brain

Recommended sources

Search the GenderWatch database available from the library web page. Some sample search strategies include:

women and leadership and africa

women and leadership and asia

women and indigenous and leadership

Web pages

Distinguished Women of Past and Present
This site has biographies of women who contributed to our culture in many different ways. There are writers, educators, scientists, heads of state, politicians, civil rights crusaders, artists, entertainers, and others.

National Women's Hall of Fame
Use the menu at the top to find a link to Women of the Hall.  You can use this link to search by name, date, or achievement to find biographies of inductees.

Fast Company: Strong Female Lead
You can browse this page to find articles about women leaders in many different industries.

Center for American Women and Politics
The Center for American Women and Politics is a leading source of research on women and politics.  Use the Research and Scholarship links to find reports.

Lean In
This organization, founded by Sheryl Sandberg and Dave Goldberg, is dedicated to women's issues and empowering women.

Books

Citing Sources

The library has a comprehensive Citation Guide to help you accurately cite your sources.

These two handouts from the guide give you the basics on citing print and electronic sources:

Citing Print Sources

Citing Electronic Sources

More information on citing sources is on the right side of the main FSS guide.

Women in Graphic Novels

Your library liaison is: Sara Shutkin

Sara Shutkin

Sara Shutkin

Email Me

Contact:
Alverno College Library/Archives
Office CO B8
(414)382-6202


Use this handout to determine if an article is considered scholarly: Is it a scholarly article or isn’t it?


To find more information and scholarly articles about "Gender in Comic Books," do searches on Google Scholar, Academic Search Premier, Gender Watch, or Opposing Viewpoints,.  You can access these databases via the Databases A ot Z list.
Here is a link to it: https://www.alverno.edu/library/databasesatoz.php

To get started finding information, try some of these topics in your search. There are many more; a librarian can help you.

  • Gender AND Comic Books
  • Gender Identity AND Comic Books
  • Gender Stereotypes AND Comics
  • Black Women in Graphic Novels
  • Cartoons AND Gender
  • Comic Books, Strips, etc.--History and Criticism
  • Feminist Graphic Art
  • Gender Differences AND Comic Books
  • Graphic Novels
  • Graphic Novels--History and Criticism
  • Lesbian Comics
  • Lesbian Identity AND Comic Art
  • LGBTQ AND Comic Books
  • LGBTQ and Graphic Novels
  • Women AND Graphic Novels
  • Women Cartoonists
  • Women in Graphic  Novels
  • Women Novelists

Use Credo Reference for credible sources and background research.

Credo Reference

BRAIN: Using Your Brain to Evaluate Information (from Shasta College)
http://libguides.shastacollege.edu/brain

Gender in Comic Books

Your library liaison is: Sara Shutkin

Sara Shutkin

Sara Shutkin

Email Me

Contact:
Alverno College Library/Archives
Office CO B8
(414)382-6202


Use this handout to determine if an article is considered scholarly: Is it a scholarly article or isn’t it?


To find more information and scholarly articles about "Gender in Comic Books," do searches on Google Scholar, Academic Search Premier, Gender Watch, or Opposing Viewpoints,.  You can access these databases via the Databases A ot Z list.
Here is a link to it: https://www.alverno.edu/library/databasesatoz.php

To get started finding information, try some of these topics in your search. There are many more; a librarian can help you.

  • Gender AND Comic Books
  • Gender Identity AND Comic Books
  • Gender Stereotypes AND Comics
  • Cartoons AND Gender
  • Comic Books, Strips, etc.--History and Criticism
  • Gender Differences AND Comic Books
  • Graphic Novels
  • Women AND Graphic Novels
  • Lesbian Comics
  • Lesbian Identity AND Comic Art
  • LGBTQ AND Comic Books
  • Queer Comics
  • Queer Theory AND Comics
  • Women Cartoonists

Use Credo Reference for credible sources and background research.

Credo Reference

BRAIN: Using Your Brain to Evaluate Information (from Shasta College)
http://libguides.shastacollege.edu/brain

CSI: Crime Scene Issues

Use this guide to find resources for forensic science in popular culture. Your library liaison is Dolores Skowronek

Dolores the librarian


Finding Fictional Forensics Books

Book image

There are a handful of authors who write fiction books portraying forensic scientists in action. Here is a partial list of authors and books provided by Good Reads: https://www.goodreads.com/shelf/show/forensic-fiction

The Alverno Library has a small selection of fictional books and graphic novels featuring forensic science. But, public libraries typically have larger collections of fiction books. For example, the Milwaukee County public libraries offer a wide selection of books and other resources for its residents. Here is more information on obtaining a Milwaukee County public library card: https://countycat.mcfls.org/help# 

For students who have a Milwaukee County public library card, search CountyCat to find books available for checkout: https://countycat.mcfls.org/


Looking for Alverno Fiction Books? 

Scroll left to view a sample of books available at the Alverno Library. Click the image for more information.

 

Looking for Alverno Non-fiction Books and Ebooks?

Scroll left to view a sampling of non-fiction books and ebooks available at the Alverno Library. Click the image for more information.

Or, try a search in TOPCAT or Ebook Central. Any of these search terms will get you started: Forensic Science, Crime Scene Investigation, Forensic Anthropology, Criminal Investigation, Crime Laboratories, DNA Data Banks, Genetic Privacy, Forensic Genetics.

Crime scene forensics Forensics Forensics audiobook Science of forensic entomology Genetic justice Truth machine Fundamentals of forensic science Guide to forensic DNA profiling Practical guide to forensic nursing Forensic science a short introduction The immortal life of Henrietta Lacks Police lab Homocide investigations Forensic science current issues Crime scene chemistry


Challenge: Do More Research

So, you want to dig deeper into your topic? A good strategy is to start with databases like Academic Search Premier - which is found on the Alverno Library's Databases A to Z page. Another good choice is the Alverno Library's Google Scholar search tool.

When searching, it is always a good idea to try different search words and phrases. Think of synonyms and alternate spellings. If one search term isn't working - try again with another. Here are some suggestions to get you started.... Can you think of others?

CSI word cloud

Children's Literature: Tough Topics

Use this guide to find resources for tough topics in children's literature. Your library liaison is Dolores Skowronek

Dolores Skowronek


Starting Your Research

We'll start by using a variety of resources that are available through the library.

Academic Databases are good for finding scholarly journal articles, book reviews, and sometimes news stories. (You will find a complete list here). Google and Wikipedia can quickly lead you astray, but we know you'll use them, so we'll talk about how to use them correctly and evaluate the information you find.

Not sure what kind of question to start with?
Teaching Books has background information, discussion questions, author interviews, and additional resources for children's and YA books.
See what they have on Refugee.

 

Why did Cuba deny entry to the refugees on board the St. Louis in 1938?

 

How many refugees left Cuba in 1994? How many succeeded?

 

What did Aleppo look like before the war? What was life in Syria like before the war?


Banned & Challenged Books

Books are constantly being challenged by people who believe that the books (or the ideas within the books) are offensive, dangerous, unsavory, or obscene.
Banned Books Week celebrates these books and pushes back against what the American Library Association, booksellers, educators, and others view as censorship and a challenge to our freedom of speech.

Some useful links on banned & challenged books:


Click an image to view information on banned books in the Alverno Library.

A light in the attic book cover are you there god it's me margaret book cover harry potter book cover tango makes three book cover blubber book cover always running book cover habibi book cover james and the giant peach book cover olive's ocean book cover roll of thunder book cover catcher in the rye cover chocolate war cover curious incident book cover lovely bones cover this one summer outsiders cover

Tips for more successful searches

Narrow your topic and try to think of alternate search terms.

Example: you can find information on nature travel by using search terms like ecotourism.

Put quotes around phrases like "invasive species" to get more relevant (and fewer) results.

If you are using the Academic Search Premier database you can limit the amount of results by applying a date range and using the check box for full text articles.

If you aren't finding the information you need please ask a librarian. We are here to help.

 

Global Travel & Tourism

Your library liaison is: Larry Duerr

 

Loading ...

ASK A LIBRARIAN

Ask a Librarian

APA Citation

Looking for APA resources? Try the Citation Guide.

LibGuides icon
Citing Sources LibGuide

These handouts will also get you started in the right direction:
Formatting a Book Citation
Formatting a Journal Article Citation
Formatting a Webpage Citation

Or, click here to view APA videos.

Off Campus Access

Log in from off campus using your network ID. The same username and password you use the check email or log into Moodle.

Library Information

Need more help?

-Stop in for 1-on-1 help. Hours & Location.
-Send us an email.
-Call the reference desk at (414)382-6062.
-Library Home Page.
-Library Staff Directory.