Skip to main content

FSS125 - First Semester Seminar: Home

Library Tools

Search Opposing Viewpoints

opposing viewpoints

 

What is Opposing Viewpoints?

Ever been in class, talking to friends, or scrolling through the news and come across a heated debate on a topic that you don't know that much about? Opposing Viewpoints is a great place to start. It takes controversial topics and highlights the main points, then pulls relevant articles, statistics, news, and more that work as good examples of both sides of the argument.

Tips:

  • This is a great place to get a feel for the main sides of a controversial topic, but sometimes the information is a little dated. For some topics, an article that's 5 years old won't make a difference. For other topics where cutting edge information is crucial, 5 years is ancient history. Consider your topic and check for currency when using Opposing Viewpoints.
  • Most current information will have a "NEW!" or "UPDATED!" tag on the topic link.

Search TOPCAT

topcat logo

 

Login | Advanced | Course Reserves | Help


What is TOPCAT?

TOPCAT is our library catalog. You can search here for books, magazines, course reserves, DVDs, textbooks, and other items that we hold in our physical collection (i.e. things you can come pull off the shelf and check out). We also have some of our e-content in TOPCAT, but not all.

TIPS:

  • Keep your searches broad and simple to start. Try 1 or 2 keywords at first.
  • Use the limiters on the left to narrow your results.
  • You'll see other schools listed in your results. They're part of our library consortium, which means we all share materials. If you find something from another school that you want, you can request it and pick it up from our library once it arrives at Alverno.

Search for Ebooks

ebook central logo

What is Ebook Central?

This is our main ebook vendor and you'll find over 140,000 ebooks across all different disciplines here. You can download ebooks or view them online, and they're all keyword searchable. Ebook Central is user friendly and easy to navigate. 

TIPS:

  • We recommend you read online rather than download your ebook. If you like to take notes or highlight books as you read, reading them online and saving them to your virtual bookshelf ensures you won't lose your notes when your checkout period expires.
  • You'll need to set up a user login to download ebooks or save them to your virtual bookshelf, but it's free and easy to do.
  • Contact a librarian if you have trouble setting up your ebook account.

Search Google Scholar

google scholar logo
 

Why use Google Scholar?

Google Scholar takes some of the guesswork out of your research. Instead of wondering if the article you're reading is scholarly or comes from a reputable source, Google Scholar makes sure of it. You still have to do some legwork, but the quality of the information you have to work with is much higher. This is a great place to start academic research when your instructor says you need to find scholarly articles.

Tips:

  • If you're not sure where to start, keep your searches broad at first. Slowly add additional keywords (or swap them out) when you get an idea of how you want to specify your question.
  • Do you have an article citation and want to know if we have the full text? Plug the article title in and, if we do, chances are good you'll see a [PDF], [HTML], or "Full Text @ Alverno" link appear to the right of the search results.
  • Always use the link on the library homepage (or on this guide) to get to Google Scholar, this will give you better results as it's synced with our databases.
Loading

ASK A LIBRARIAN

Ask a Librarian

Off Campus Access

Use the barcode number (starts 4505) on your student ID for both the username & password to access e-resources from off campus.

Library Information

Need more help?

-Stop in for 1-on-1 help. Hours & Location.
-Send us an email.
-Call the research assistance desk at (414)382-6062.
-Library Home Page.
-Library Staff Directory.

Resources for Your Class

Use the tabs to find resources for your class.

Personal Finance

Your library liaison is: Becky Alford

To start finding information about personal finance you can browse the websites, print, and electronic books listed below.  To find more information and scholarly articles, do searches of Google Scholar or Opposing Viewpoints.  To get started finding information, try some of these topics in your search.

  • Budgeting
  • Savings
  • Credit
  • Retirement
  • Investing
  • Scams
  • Identity Theft

Click on a book image to go to the record in TOPCAT or Ebook Central. Scroll for more.

More Money Please Book Cover The One Page Financial Plan Book Cover Everything Budgeting Book Cover Ultimate Financial Plan Book Cover Your Money and Your Life Book Cover Personal Finance for Dummies Book Cover

Recommended Websites

  • 360 Degrees of Financial Literacy
    This website from the American Institute of CPAs contains tips and articles on a wide array of financial topics including taxes, budgets, insurance, and credit.
  • Federal Reserve Education.org
    This is an informational website created by the Federal Reserve. You can find articles and tutorials on many financial topics including banking, economics, and personal finance.
  • Federal Trade Commission: Money and Credit
    This website was created by the Federal Trade Commission to help educate consumers to help them avoid scams and fraud. You can find articles about credit, loans, savings, identity theft, and more.
  • MyMoney.gov
    This website is sponsored by the Financial Literacy and Education Commission. You can search it to find articles and tips about saving, investing, banking, and more.
  • Free Financial Planning Tools
    This website from the Securities and Exchange Commission provides tools to help you calculate savings for retirement, college, and more.
  • Investopedia: Personal Finance
    Investopedia was created by NASDAQ and is authored by data scientists, and financial experts. You can find articles, history, and overviews of numerous financial topics including taxes, stocks, savings, and credit cards.

Multiple Intelligences

Your library liaison is: Sara Shutkin

Sara Shutkin

Sara Shutkin

Email Me

Contact:
Alverno College Library/Archives
Office CO B8
(414)382-6202


To find more information and scholarly articles about "Multiple Intelligences," do searches on Google Scholar, Opposing Viewpoints, or Academic Search Premier.  You can access these databases via the Databases A ot Z list.
Here is a link to it: https://www.alverno.edu/library/databasesatoz.php

To get started finding information, try some of these topics in your search. There are many more; a librarian can help you.

  • Multiple Intelligences
  • Theory of Multiple Intelligences
  • Kinesthetic Intelligence
  • Visual Intelligence
  • Interpersonal Intelligence
  • Logical Intelligence
  • Linguistic Intelligence
  • Musical Intelligence
  • Cognitive Styles
  • Intellect

Use Credo Reference for credible sources and background research.

Credo Reference

BRAIN: Using Your Brain to Evaluate Information (from Shasta College)
http://libguides.shastacollege.edu/brain

Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse

Use this guide to find information on epidemics. Your library liaison is: Dolores Skowronek

Let's start with a brief survey

Use this handout to determine if an article is considered scholarly: Is it a scholarly article or isn’t it?

Looking for videos?

Movie clapperboard logo   

The Unseen Enemies: Man & Disease series examines the top eleven infectious disease killers in human history. Enter your Alverno network login and password to view the videos online.


 

Looking for books? 

Here is a sample of books that are available at the Alverno Library. Click the image for more information.

Polio an American story book coverSpittiing blood book coverAngel of death book coverThe influenza pandemic book coverThe power of plagues book coverAIDS book coverThe great influenza book coverThe infectious microbeTwelve diseases book coverDeadly companions book coverSmallpox book coverEncyclopedia of pestilence book coverMagic bullets book coverunderstanding viruses book coverAids the biological basisPlagues and poxes book coverPandemic influenzabook coverFlu book coverPlauge ports book coverAn American plague book coverOutbreak book coverDr. Jenner and the speckled monster book coverInfectious disease epidemiology book coverThe power of plagues book coverContagion and chaos book coverDeadly outbreaks book coverIllustrated guide to infection book coverKiller germs book coverA plague of prisons book coverThe vaccine race book coverThe Spanish influenza book cover

 

Looking for ebooks?

The following are available through the Alverno Library. You will need the 14 digit barcode on your student ID to access these books from off campus.

Emerging epidemics book coverThe burdens of disease book coverBiology of plagues book coverEmerging infectious diseases book coverPlagues in world historyThe black death book coverInfluenza book coverDeadly companions book coverPlagues and poxes book coverInfectious disease book coverTuberculosis book coverAtlas of human infectious deseases book coverEssentials of clinical infectious book coverTextbook of influenzaviruses plagues and history book coverMosquito soldiers book coverCholera book coverShip of death book coverMalaria book coverLiviing with polio book cover

Social Media: Pros & Cons

Your library liaison is: Cat Jones

Let's start with a survey.

Start by building a word bank surrounding the topic you chose related to the pros and cons of social media.  This takes a few minutes up front but it makes your searches faster and more effective. For example, your word bank might contain some of these terms:

Social Media, Social Network, Social Networking, Cyber Bullying, Cyber Crime, Fake News, Misinformation, Ethics, Privacy, Bot Accounts, Internet Activism, etc.

You can add to your word bank as you come across new terms that might be useful.


Start with the big picture.

Before you take a stance on your issue or decide which part of the issue you want to focus on, it's good to have a broad understanding of the topic.

Credo Reference is a database of encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and other reference resources. This is a great place to start when looking for the basics - definitions, dates, etc. - but not where you'd go for commentary (ie: arguments about the pros and cons). You can think of this as an academic version of Wikipedia.

Start to branch out

Opposing Viewpoints takes a close look at current events and hot topics and outlines the arguments on either side. The topic pages provide an overview, similar to Credo, that is another good alternative to Wikipedia. In addition to this, it synchronizes a variety of resources (scholarly, popular, news, media) that illustrate the arguments being made on all sides of this topic.

Google Scholar searches across all of our databases and a number of open access databases. You can search here to find the full text of scholarly articles. I usually recommend this to students when they need to find the full text of a specific article, or when they're struggling to find resources in our other databases.

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco Databases) is a really good, broad, general database. This is a great place to start when looking for scholarly articles. You can also search across multiple Ebsco databases at the same time, which is really helpful if your topic is inter-disciplinary. 

Books & Ebooks

TOPCAT is the library catalog. Search here to find books that we have in the library or that our partner libraries have, then come check them out!

Ebook Central has thousands of ebooks on topics of every discipline. You can read these books online (which we recommend) or download them to your device.

We Want Your Opinion

Please complete a short survey about information resources.

Your library liaison is: Larry Duerr

 

Resources for Your Research

The following database is a good places to search for information library on the Beatles, another band, or a musician:

Pop Culture Universe

 

Using Information on the Internet

Remember to be cautious with information from a web page. Take some time to learn more about the author or the organization who created the content. See if you can determine who else is linking to the site.

We Want Your Opinion

Please complete a short survey about information resources.

Your library liaison is: Larry Duerr

Local Resources on Sustainability

The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

Search this local newspaper for stories on Milwaukee and Wisconsin businesses and sustainability. Note: The newspaper's archive is searchable for the past year.

 

WUWM

This local public radio station has a reporter specializing in environmental issues. 

 

Organizations on the Web

Wisconsin Sustainability Council

ECO - Environmental Collaboration Office (City of Milwaukee)

 

Remember to be cautious with information from a web page. Take some time to learn more about the author or the organization who created the content. See if you can determine who else is linking to the site.

What Great College Students Do

Your library liaison is: Becky Alford


Is it scholarly or not?

Click each of the links below to view the items. Then determine what kind of information it is (ex. article, web page...) and if you think it is scholarly.

Women of Courage

Your library liaison is: Sara Shutkin

Sara Shutkin

Sara Shutkin

Email Me

Contact:
Alverno College Library/Archives
Office CO B8
(414)382-6202


Let's start with a brief survey

Use this handout to determine if an article is considered scholarly: Is it a scholarly article or isn’t it?


To find more information and scholarly articles about "Women of Courage," do searches on Google Scholar, Academic Search Premier, Gender Watch, or Opposing Viewpoints,.  You can access these databases via the Databases A ot Z list.
Here is a link to it: https://www.alverno.edu/library/databasesatoz.php

To get started finding information, try some of these topics in your search. There are many more; a librarian can help you.

  • Courageous Women
  • Women AND Courage
  • Brave Women
  • Powerful Women
  • Fearless Women
  • Women AND Heroism
  • Women AND Social Justice
  • Women AND Civil Rights
  • Strong Women
  • Women AND Suffrage

Use Credo Reference for credible sources and background research.

Credo Reference

 


Learn about the courageous women from Alverno’s History, visit the Alverno College Archives
https://www.alverno.edu/archives/


BRAIN: Using Your Brain to Evaluate Information (from Shasta College)
http://libguides.shastacollege.edu/brain

Art & Wellness

This guide will help you explore areas of arts based wellness. Your library liaison is: Dolores Skowronek

Let's start with a brief survey

Use this handout to determine if an article is considered scholarly: Is it a scholarly article or isn’t it?


Looking for websites?

Website logo    

Use the Best Websites for Nursing page to find reliable information on health and wellness topics.


 

Looking for books? 

Here is a sample of books that are available at the Alverno Library. Click the image for more information.

 

Looking for ebooks?

The following are available through the Alverno Library. You will need the 14 digit barcode on your student ID to access these books from off campus.

The creative arts in counseling book coverFocusing-oriented art therapy book coverArtful therapy book coverSpirituality and art therapy book coverMusic therapy in action book coverUsing expressive arts book coverHealing the inner city child book coverArt therapy and social action book coverHealing with art book coverHandbook of play therapy book coverDying, bereavement and the healing arts book coverMusic therapy book coverThe expressive body in life book coverArt therapy book coverIntegrating expressive arts book coverThe handbook of dramatherapy book coverThe healing flow book coverExpressive arts interventions book coverMaking sense book cover

Tough Topics in Children's Literature

Your library liaison is: Cat Jones

Let's start with a survey: 125L and 125J.


Discussion: Why do we research?


Starting Your Research

Building your word bank

  • Broader themes/topics: banned books, censorship, freedom of speech, etc. Holocaust, WWII, Nazism, etc.
  • Specified keywords: Copenhagen, Nazi Occupation, Star of David, symbolism, Christian X, etc.

Start with Credo Reference to gather background information. You can think of this as an academic version of Wikipedia. Try some of the keywords listed above. For this particular topic - the Nazi Occupation of Copenhagen - the resources in Credo appear to be limited. I'll touch BRIEFLY on how to use Wikipedia to track down resources when you're not having luck elsewhere.

Branching Out

Using different combinations of the keywords in your word bank, try searching these databases.

  • Academic Search Premier (plus: Humanities International Complete, Literary Reference Center, Education Research Complete, ERIC, History Reference Center) These databases are good for finding scholarly articles on your topic. Test out different keywords and look at the subject terms associated with specific articles for ideas on how to tweak your search. Some of these will be better than others depending on your topic/book.
  • Teaching Books a great database for background information, lesson plans, discussion questions, author bios, and additional resources for children's books and young adult books. (Check the Meet-the-Author topics for Number the Stars)
  • JSTOR A broad, inter-disciplinary database. This is another great resource for finding scholarly articles.
  • Google Scholar. Just what it sounds like, a scholarly version of Google!

Banned Books in the SWITCH Consortium
View some of the banned books in our collection below, or click the link above to view the whole list.

A light in the attic book cover are you there god it's me margaret book cover harry potter book cover tango makes three book cover blubber book cover always running book cover habibi book cover james and the giant peach book cover olive's ocean book cover roll of thunder book cover catcher in the rye cover chocolate war cover curious incident book cover lovely bones cover this one summer outsiders cover

Gender in Comic Books

Your library liaison is: Sara Shutkin

Sara Shutkin

Sara Shutkin

Email Me

Contact:
Alverno College Library/Archives
Office CO B8
(414)382-6202


Let's start with a brief survey

Use this handout to determine if an article is considered scholarly: Is it a scholarly article or isn’t it?


To find more information and scholarly articles about "Gender in Comic Books," do searches on Google Scholar, Academic Search Premier, Gender Watch, or Opposing Viewpoints,.  You can access these databases via the Databases A ot Z list.
Here is a link to it: https://www.alverno.edu/library/databasesatoz.php

To get started finding information, try some of these topics in your search. There are many more; a librarian can help you.

  • Gender AND Comic Books
  • Gender Identity AND Comic Books
  • Gender Stereotypes AND Comics
  • Cartoons AND Gender
  • Comic Books, Strips, etc.--History and Criticism
  • Gender Differences AND Comic Books
  • Graphic Novels
  • Women AND Graphic Novels
  • Lesbian Comics
  • Lesbian Identity AND Comic Art
  • LGBTQ AND Comic Books
  • Queer Comics
  • Queer Theory AND Comics
  • Women Cartoonists

Use Credo Reference for credible sources and background research.

Credo Reference

BRAIN: Using Your Brain to Evaluate Information (from Shasta College)
http://libguides.shastacollege.edu/brain

Loading