Skip to main content

Fundraising & Grantwriting: Nonprofit Organizations

Finding Books: Nonprofits & Organizations

Book cover: effective financial management in public and nonprofit agencies Book cover: starting and building a nonprofit Book cover: a how to guide for nonprofits: social media for social good Book cover: america's nonprofit sector Book cover: nonprofits made easy Book cover: the nonprofit development companion Book cover: the high performance board Book cover: measuring performance in public and nonprofit organizations Book cover: nonprofit essentials Book cover: not for profit budgeting and financial management Book cover: the real problem solvers  

Scroll left for more books.
Click the cover to go to TOPCAT record.

Recommended Websites: Nonprofits & Organizations

USA.gov - This government site will connect you to a number of valuable federal resources on the local and national level.

GuideStar - The searchable database includes the mission, programs, finances, and contacts for over one million nonprofit organizations in the United States. This basic information is free but requires registration. Additional information is available for a subscription fee. Includes access to 990s.

BoardStar Inc. - An organization dedicated to improving and strengthening people's involvement with nonprofit organizations.

National Council of Nonprofits - This is the largest national network of nonprofits and an excellent source for resources and advocacy.

Free Management Library - Collection of free resources about personal, professional and organizational development, serving people in businesses, nonprofits and universities. It offers more than 10,000 resources -- books, links, articles and more recently blogs. Be sure to check their Catalog of Nonprofit Literature.

Foundation Center Fact Finder - This site includes access to a Foundation Directory, 990s, and a Trend Tracker.

Foundation Center Proposal Writing Short Course - A fantastic resource for preparing a proposal.

CitizenAudit.org - An extensive database of full-text searchable nonprofit financial documents. This site also simplifies the process of searching 990s with their How To tutorial.

Idealist - Excellent job & internship hunting site for those interested in nonprofit work.

The Chronicle of Philanthropy - A trusted source for news, jobs, and hot topics in nonprofit and philanthropy work.

The NonProfit Times - Another trusted site for news, grants, and resources related to nonprofits.

Assignment Calculator

This time management tool will help you get assignments done on time.

NoodleBib

NoodleTools helps create accurate citations, reference lists, and annotated bibliographies. For best results, we recommend that you use it in conjugation with the APA manual or Purdue’s Online Writing Lab (OWL).

NoodleTools icon

Need more resources? Visit the library's Citing Sources LibGuide.

Library Information

Need more help?

-Stop in for 1-on-1 help. Hours & Location.
-Send us an email.
-Call the research assistance desk at (414)382-6062.
-Library Home Page.
-Library Staff Directory.