Skip to main content

Nursing LibGuide: Basic Nursing Resources

Resources for nursing students

Getting Started

Whether you're starting your nursing classes, preparing for the NCLEX, or finishing up your capstone project - this guide will help you find resources available through the Alverno library.

Logging in from off campus? All Alverno electronic resources are available from off campus. Use the 14 digit barcode on your student ID to access our resources from off campus.

Videos


Click here to access short video tutorials and other videos for nursing students.

Citing in APA

NoodleTools will help you create accurate citations, reference lists, and annotated bibliographies. For best results, we recommend that you use it in conjugation with the APA manual or Purdue’s Online Writing Lab (OWL).

NoodleTools icon

More Citation Tools

Sample APA Papers

Fully formatted APA paper thumbnail

Looking for a sample APA paper? Purdue's OWL provides a fully formatted APA paper.

 

Formatting an annotated bibliography thumbnail

Formatting an annotated bibliography.

 

Formatting a running head thumbnail

Formatting a running head.

NEW Nursing Materials!

New books

Use the tabs to find the newest library books for Nursing or try your own TOPCAT search to look up items held at Alverno or another SWITCH library.

Questions? Ask a Librarian!

Loading

Finding Journal Articles

To find articles on a topic

To find an article when you have a citation

  • Visit the library's home page and select the Google Scholar link to search the content of Alverno databases as well as the "free" web. Enter the article title into the Google Scholar search box and look for the full text links on the right side of the page. Not finding what you need? Use TOPCAT, Alverno's eJournal portal, or Interlibrary Loan to obtain a copy of your article.

Finding Books

TOPCAT icon

Use the TOPCAT search box to find Alverno Library books. You can also use TOPCAT to search for and request books from other libraries in the SWITCH consortium.

To find Alverno electronic books (e-books), use the Ebooks search box located on the library home page or click here to begin your search.

Finding Websites

Anybody can and anybody will post anything online...

So, how do you find the good stuff? By visiting the library's Best Website for Nursing. These websites are recommended by Alverno librarians.

Not finding what you need? Visit the Source Evaluation LibGuide for tips on determining the quality of information available on the open web.

TIP: Use Google's advance search feature to limit a search by domain. For example, limiting a search to .gov or .edu will only retrieve websites published by government bodies or accredited post secondary educational institutions.

Cool Tools

Alverno provides access to online streaming videos for 18 volumes of the Bate's Visual Guide to the Physical Examination. Your network login name and password are required to view these videos. Click the window to access volume 14, Head to Toe Assessment (Adult). Or, view other videos using the links below.

Video 1 thru 12

Video 13 thru 18

Textbooks

Greyscale open book

The library has a limited number of textbooks available for checkout. Please return textbooks on time, overdue fines will not be forgiven.

Not finding your textbook? Try an ebook search to determine if you can access a copy online.

Ebooks

Nursing Librarian

Dolores Skowronek's picture
Dolores Skowronek
Contact:
Alverno College Library
Office FO 237
(414) 382-6184

Assignment Calculator

Questions?

Ask a librarian icon

Need more help? Send us a question.

Alverno Library Information

Need more help?

-Stop in for 1-on-1 help. Hours & Location
-Call the reference desk at (414) 382-6062
-Library Home Page
-Library Staff Directory

Date Updated

11/27/17