Skip to main content

Nursing LibGuide: DNP

Books and ebooks

Use the tabs to find books and ebooks for students enrolled in the DNP program. Or try your own search in TOPCAT or Ebook Central. Textbooks are typically found in Alverno's textbook collection. When borrowing textbooks, please be considerate of your classmates and return books when they are due. Overdue fines for textbooks will not be forgiven.

Questions? Ask a Librarian!

Loading

Evidence Based CEU Course

Sponsored by the University of Iowa, this continuing education course provides nurses with an understanding of the basic principles of evidence based practice. The cost for individual access to the online course is $29. 

Other (free) resources for nurses can be found on Alverno's Evidence Based Nursing LibGuide.

Finding Journal Articles

The 14 digit barcode on your Alverno ID provides off campus access

To find articles on a topic: Start by visiting Databases by Subject for NursingCINAHL Plus with Full Text and PubMed MEDLINE are highly recommended for finding scholarly articles on a variety of nursing topics.

To find an article when you have a citation: Use the Google Scholar link found on the library's home page to search the content of Alverno's databases as well as the "free" web. Enter the article title into the Google Scholar search box and look for the full text links on the right side of the page.

Not finding what you need? Use TOPCAT, Alverno's e-Journal portal, or Interlibrary Loan to obtain a copy of your article.

Comprehensive Literature Searching

When researching a topic, DNP students may wish to perform a comprehensive literature search in order to find as much information as possible. These handouts provide strategies for comprehensive searching.

Searching Multiple Databases in CINAHL

Truncation and Nested Searching

Finding "Descendent" Citations with Google Scholar

Searching the Grey Literature with Google Advanced Search

Finding Websites

Anybody can and anybody will post anything online...

So, how do you find the good stuff? By visiting the library's Best Website for Nursing.

Not finding what you need? Try using Google's advanced search feature to limit a search by domain. For example, limiting a search to .gov or .edu will only retrieve websites published by government bodies or accredited post secondary educational institutions.

Citing in APA

NoodleTools will help you create accurate citations, reference lists, and annotated bibliographies. For best results, use it in conjugation with the APA manual or Purdue’s Online Writing Lab (OWL).

More citation tips, handouts, and online tools are available on the Citing Sources LibGuide.

Writing Your Paper

Resources to help you write quality literature reviews and papers are available through the Alverno library and also online. Click the tabs to access recommended resources.

Resources for creating your literature review can also be found on the Writing a Literature Review LibGuide.

AGREE Reporting Checklist
The AGREE Reporting Checklist is intended to assist practice guideline developers to improve the completeness and transparency of reporting in practice guidelines. The checklist can also provide guidance to peer reviewers, journal editors, and guideline users about the essential components of a high quality practice guideline.
http://www.agreetrust.org/resource-centre/agree-reporting-checklist/

AMSTAR
AMSTAR's (A Measurement Tool to Assess Systematic Reviews) goal is to create a valid, reliable, and useable instrument that will help users differentiate between systematic reviews, focusing on methodological quality and expert consensus. It can be used to develop and evaluate reviews, serves as a guide to conduct reviews, and can be used as an aid to teach about systematic reviews.
https://amstar.ca/

CONSORT
CONSORT (Consolidated Standards of Reporting Trials) encompasses various initiatives developed by the CONSORT Group to alleviate the problems arising from inadequate reporting of randomized controlled trials.
http://www.consort-statement.org/

EQUATOR Network
The EQUATOR Network (Enhancing the Quality and Transparency of Health Research) is a useful resource that provides information on reporting guidelines and tips for good reporting in health studies. It includes access to CONSORT guidelines, PRISMA guidelines, and others.
http://www.equator-network.org/

PRISMA
PRISMA (Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses) is an evidence-based minimum set of items for reporting in systematic reviews and meta-analyses. PRISMA focuses on the reporting of reviews evaluating randomized trials, but can also be used as a basis for reporting systematic reviews of other types of research, particularly evaluations of interventions.
http://www.prisma-statement.org/

SQUIRE
SQUIRE (Standards for Quality Improvement Reporting Excellence) guidelines provide a framework for reporting new knowledge about how to improve healthcare. They are intended for reports that describe system level work to improve the quality, safety, and value of healthcare.
http://www.squire-statement.org/index.cfm?fuseaction=Page.ViewPage&pageId=471

Loading

Copyright

If your final scholarly project includes copies of images, charts, graphs, handouts, forms, or other materials that you did not create, you must determine if the copied work is protected by federal copyright law. If it is, you need permission to use the work - unless your use falls under the fair use exception of the copyright law or is permitted through a creative commons license.

Works that are in the public domain or published by the United States federal government are typically not copyright protected. While you do not need permission to use these works, you must still cite them in your final project. This chart will help you determine if a work is in the public domain.

These tips will help you understand how to get permission to use a copyright protected work.

Is your final scholarly project protected by copyright law? Yes, and you own the rights to your work. It is your intellectual property.

Date Updated

8/22/17