Skip to main content

Nursing LibGuide: Health Policy

Resources for nursing students.

Getting Started

This guide provides resources for finding legislative information. You may also use it to find information on health policy and issues related to the organization, economics, and politics of healthcare systems.

Looking for an interesting bill to study? Here's a tip... start by searching Congress.gov or the Wisconsin State Legislature site.

Or, use Google to retrieve information on past, current, and potential legislation. To create an effective Google search statement, use the  Boolean connector "AND" to combine search terms that succinctly describe your topic. Here's an example of a good search statement: nurse staffing AND legislation.

Or, visit nursing organization websites or use this directory to find other organizations that may promote advocacy and provide information on pressing legislative or policy issues.

Capital dome icon
Need a refresher on how Congress works?
This series of short videos provide an overview of the legislative process.

Searching Congress.gov Video

Not Fake News

The New York Times

Among the most respected news publications in the nation, The New York Times provides in depth coverage on many issues - including those related to health policy. Alverno students can create an account through The New York Times Group Pass to view full text articles online. Please visit Alverno's NY Times LibGuide for more information.

Websites

The Alverno Library's Best Websites for Healthcare page provides access to quality websites that have been vetted by staff librarians. This is a fast and easy way to find free reliable information online.

Looking for websites on a specific topic? Click the tabs located about this box.

Loading ...

Books and ebooks

Use the tabs to find books and ebooks on specific topics.

TOPCAT is also available for students who wish to search for Alverno Library books or books available in the SWITCH consortium. Or, click here to search for ebooks in the library's Ebook Central online collection.

Logging in from off campus? Use your Alverno network user name and password to access resources from off campus.

Loading ...

Video

Escape fire

The film Escape Fire is now available through the Alverno Library as a streaming video and can be viewed from any computer with Internet access. Your network login name and password are required to view these videos online.

An Escape Fire DVD is also available for students wishing to view the film on a DVD player.

Citing Government Documents


This document has examples of citations for a federal bill and Wisconsin state bill.

APA manual
The Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (APA manual) provides examples of how to cite legal and legislative materials. Copies of the manual are available at the Alverno Library.

The bluebook
For guidelines on how to cite legislative materials, the APA manual recommends consulting The Bluebook: A uniform system of citation. Questions about citing a state bill or resolution? This excerpt from the Bluebook will help.

Cornell University icon
Use the APA menu on the Cornell University Library LibGuides to find examples of how to cite government documents.

Visiting DC

Washington DC image

Official tourism site of Washington DC

Looking to book a White House or Capital tour? Contact your congressman or congresswoman for assistance.

I'm Just a Bill...

Librarian

Dolores Skowronek's picture
Dolores Skowronek
Contact:
Alverno College Library
Office FO 237
(414) 382-6184

Alverno Library Information

Need more help?

-Stop in for 1-on-1 help. Hours & Location
-Call the reference desk at (414) 382-6062
-Library Home Page
-Library Staff Directory

Questions?

Ask a librarian icon

Need more help? Send us a question.

Date Updated

8/29/19