Skip to main content

Nursing LibGuide: Basic Resources

Resources for nursing students.

Welcome

Whether you're starting your nursing classes, preparing for the NCLEX, or finishing up your capstone project - this guide will help you find resources available through the Alverno library.

Logging in from off campus? All Alverno library electronic resources are available from off campus. Use your Alverno network username and password to access our resources from off campus.

Need more information about Alverno library services? Check out our FAQ.

E-Books

Ebook logo

Looking for books online? Alverno has access to quite a few. Checkout the Alverno ebooks LibGuide for more information.

Tutorials and Videos

Not sure where to start?

Video clapper board image

Click here to access a collection of nursing videos and tutorials.

Looking for MSN615 videos?

MSN615 video 1: Library website
MSN615 video 2: Finding books (note, SWITCH delivery temporarily suspended due to COVID 19)
MSN615 video 3: Finding full text (note, APA example in video is for 6th edition)
MSN615 video 4: Database searching

Finding Journal Articles

Journal covers

To find articles on a topic:
Start by visiting Databases by Subject for Healthcare to find scholarly articles on a variety of health and biomedical topics. These databases are recommended:

  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text
  • ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health
  • PubMed MEDLINE
  • ScienceDirect
  • Cochrane Library

To find an article when you have a citation:
Visit the library's home page and use the Google Scholar "Articles" search box to search the content of Alverno databases as well as the "free" web. Enter the article title into the Google Scholar search box and look for the full text links on the right side of the page.

Not finding what you need? Use TOPCATAlverno's journal title search, or Interlibrary Loan to obtain a copy of your article.

Finding Websites

Anybody can and anybody will post anything online...

So, how do you find the good stuff? By visiting the library's Best Websites for Healthcare which features sites that are recommended by Alverno librarians.

Not finding what you need? Visit the Source Evaluation LibGuide for tips on determining the quality of information available on the open web.

TIP: Use Google's advance search feature to limit a search by domain. For example, limiting a search to .gov or .edu will only retrieve websites published by government bodies or accredited post secondary educational institutions.

Bate's Visual Guide to the Physical Examination Videos

Bates' physical exam

Alverno provides access to the 18 volumes of Bate's Visual Guide to the Physical Examination. Use your network username and password to view the videos online. Click to access volume 14: "Head to Toe Assessment (Adult)". Or, view the other Bates' videos online.

TOPCAT

Find Alverno Library books or request books from another SWITCH Library.

TOPCAT

 

6th Edition APA Moodle Course

Moodle logo

Students can now self-enroll in the Alverno Library's 6th edition APA Moodle course. Click here to access the course. Students will be able to enroll after logging into Moodle.

These handouts are useful when filling out the NoodleTools template:
Formatting a book citation
Formatting a journal article citation
Formatting a webpage citation

APA Citation Tools

Looking for APA resources? Try the Citation Guide.

LibGuides icon
Citing Sources LibGuide

Course Reserves

Looking for reserve or electronic reserve items? Click here to access the course reserves portal. Enter the course number into the search box to view all items on reserve for a course.

Librarian

Dolores Skowronek's picture
Dolores Skowronek
Contact:
Alverno College Library
Office FO 237
(414) 382-6184

Questions?

Ask a librarian icon

Need more help? Send us a question: library@alverno.edu

Alverno Library Information

Need more help?

-Stop in for 1-on-1 help. Hours & Location
-Call the reference desk at (414) 382-6062
-Library Home Page
-Library Staff Directory

Date Updated

5/29/20